The Elder Scrolls: Betrayal of the Second Era
✅ 20 Questions Answered
📘 Available Rulebooks:
- Core Rulebook 1.0
Answered Questions
Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.
Mode: inferred
When multiple effects or abilities attempt to place or remove dice in an adventurer's cooldown track simultaneously, how are conflicts resolved and which effects take precedence?
Resolution of Multiple Effects on the Cooldown Track
When multiple effects or abilities attempt to place or remove dice in an adventurer's cooldown track at the same time, the following rules apply:
- Effects must be resolved one at a time. Each effect must be completely resolved before resolving the next effect.
- If different effects are resolved with the same timing, the players decide the order in which those effects are resolved.
This means that if two or more effects would place or remove dice in the cooldown track at the same moment (for example, as a result of a simultaneous trigger), the group chooses the order in which to resolve them. There is no inherent precedence unless a specific effect or ability states otherwise.
Relevant Rulebook References
-
Page 88:
"Effects must be resolved one at a time. Each effect must be completely resolved before resolving the next effect... If different effects are resolved with the same timing, the players decide the order in which those effects are resolved." -
Page 23:
"If multiple dice must be placed in the cooldown track at the same time, you can place those dice in the order you choose (including exhausted skill dice)."
Summary
- Resolve each effect fully before moving to the next.
- If effects have the same timing, players choose the order.
- When placing multiple dice at once, the player chooses the order of placement.
Source: pages 23 and 88.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 23, 24, 60, 88, 89)
Mode: inferred
What are the conditions for success and failure of quest steps within guild quests, and how does failing a quest step affect the session and campaign?
Success and Failure of Quest Steps
-
Success Condition:
The party succeeds at a quest step by completing that step’s quest encounter, as described in the quest step’s objective section. The specific instructions or choices for completing the step are found in the "Quest Objective" section of the quest step (page 47). -
Failure Condition:
The party fails its quest step if it fails that step’s quest encounter, unless the quest step says otherwise. This applies regardless of whether the encounter is peaceful or a battle. The quest step will specify if a peaceful or battle encounter can be failed without the quest also failing (page 46).
Effects of Failing a Quest Step
- If the party fails its quest step:
- The session ends.
- The campaign ends.
- See "Ending the Session" (page 48) and "Losing the Campaign" (page 50).
Summary
- Success: Complete the quest step’s encounter as described in the quest objective.
- Failure: Fail the quest step’s encounter (unless the step says otherwise).
- Consequence of Failure: Both the current session and the campaign end immediately.
Source:
Pages 46–47, 50.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 46, 47, 50, 51)
Mode: inferred
What happens to defeated adventurers and enemies after battle, including how their chips and dice are managed and how revival works during battle?
Defeated Adventurers
-
During Battle:
- When an adventurer is defeated (loses their last HP chip or an effect states they are defeated), their chip is removed from the map and placed on their race sheet.
- Any dice in the adventurer’s active slots are removed and exhausted.
- Dice in the defeated adventurer’s cooldown track remain there.
- While defeated, an adventurer:
- Cannot take turns.
- Cannot gain fatigue or overfatigue (including during fatigue rounds).
- Item cards remain in their ready slots and pack but cannot be used.
- Can only be affected by friendly abilities that specifically apply to a defeated adventurer.
- Revival: If the adventurer’s HP is raised above 0 (by an ability), they are revived and no longer defeated. If this happens in battle, the revived adventurer is deployed to an unoccupied hex as described by the ability that revived them.
-
After Battle:
- The rulebook does not specify additional steps for defeated adventurers after battle beyond the above, but during end of battle cleanup, you should:
- Remove and exhaust any remaining skill dice from active slots.
- Recover any drained skill dice.
- Leave skill, status, light fatigue, or overfatigue dice in the cooldown track.
- Keep any tenacity and items gained during the battle.
- The rulebook does not specify additional steps for defeated adventurers after battle beyond the above, but during end of battle cleanup, you should:
Defeated Enemies
-
During Battle:
- When a defeated enemy is removed from the battle map, place it on top of the defeated enemy stack near the map.
- If it is the first enemy defeated during the battle, use it to create the defeated enemy stack.
- If the enemy is a quest unit or an objective unit, do not place it in the defeated enemy stack; set it aside.
-
After Battle:
- During end of battle cleanup, defeated enemy chips are discarded to form a defeated enemy stack (unless otherwise instructed).
- For specific encounters (e.g., Jailbreak Introduction), all level 1/5 enemy chips are placed back into their enemy bag after the battle (page 93).
Summary of Chip and Dice Management
- Adventurer chips: Placed on their race sheet when defeated; redeployed if revived.
- Enemy chips: Placed in the defeated enemy stack or set aside if a quest/objective unit.
- Dice in active slots (adventurers): Removed and exhausted when defeated.
- Dice in cooldown track (adventurers): Remain there when defeated.
- Item cards (adventurers): Remain but cannot be used while defeated.
- Revival: Occurs if HP is raised above 0; redeploy to an unoccupied hex as per the revival ability.
Source: page 67 (Defeat, Defeated Adventurers, Defeated Enemies), page 88 (Discard, End of Battle Cleanup), page 93 (End of Battle Cleanup)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 53, 67, 88, 93)
Mode: inferred
How do companions take their turns during battle, including movement, engagement, and skill resolution, and how are they controlled by the party?
Companion Turns During Battle
Based on the rules on page 91, companions take their turns immediately after all adventurers have taken their turns. The party decides the order in which companions take their turns. If a companion is described as being controlled by the party, the party also decides which player controls that companion during its turn.
Companion Turn Sequence
-
1. Start of Turn:
Trigger any abilities with this timing, such as status effects or skill dice on the companion. -
2. Move:
You may move the companion up to 2 hexes.- The companion can be moved as chosen and does not follow normal enemy movement priorities.
-
3. Engage:
The companion may engage opposing units, if able, following these substeps in order:- a. Determine Target(s):
Refer to the companion’s range and target icons, and choose which unit(s) the companion targets.- Only targetable units in sight and in range can be chosen.
- A companion’s targeting priority icon is ignored.
- b. Gather and Roll Dice:
Roll all of the companion’s Combat dice.- A companion rolls enemy Combat dice.
- If the companion can engage multiple targets in range, roll its engage once and resolve the roll against each chosen target during the next substep.
- c. Resolve the Roll:
Resolve the total rolled Combat dice value against each of the companion’s targets. - d. Units React:
Adventurers, companions, or other enemies may resolve abilities that are triggered after this companion’s engage.- Enemies must resolve these abilities, if able.
- a. Determine Target(s):
-
4. End of Turn:
Trigger any abilities with this timing.- Then, if there are other companions, the next companion takes its turn.
Companion Skills
- Most companions have one or more skills from the Enemy Skills Reference.
- Skill resolution is not optional: Each skill must be resolved at its specified timing (if able).
- If a companion engages multiple targets, each target is affected by each of the companion’s relevant skills.
Control
- The party decides which player controls a companion during its turn (if the companion is described as being controlled by the party).
- The controlling player makes all decisions for that companion during its turn.
Summary
- Companions act after all adventurers, in an order chosen by the party.
- The party (or a chosen player) controls each companion’s actions.
- Companions may move up to 2 hexes, engage targets (ignoring targeting priority icons), and must resolve all their skills at the correct timing.
- All steps and options are detailed on page 91.
Source: page 91
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 53, 59, 61, 85, 91)
Mode: inferred
When an adventurer performs a lockpick check with multiple attempts, how must key digits be matched and how does gaining light fatigue allow adjustment of dice results?
Key Digit Matching in Lockpick Checks
- If the difficulty code for a lockpick check includes a key digit (a digit with a spiked border), that digit must be matched first before the adventurer can attempt to match any other digits.
- On your first roll, you must keep a die matching the key digit (if rolled) before keeping any other dice.
- After keeping a die that matches the key digit, you may then keep other matching dice from the same roll.
- Once the key digit has been matched and kept, you may roll that die again in subsequent attempts as normal.
(Source: page 69)
Adjusting Dice Results with Light Fatigue
- After rolling, you may gain light fatigue to adjust your dice results.
- For each light fatigue gained, you may change one die result by 1 (increase or decrease by 1).
- You cannot rotate a 6 to a 1 or a 1 to a 6.
- This adjustment can be used to help match the required digits, including the key digit.
(Source: page 69)
Summary
- Key digits must be matched and kept first before any other digits in a lockpick check.
- Light fatigue allows you to adjust dice results by 1 per fatigue gained, helping you match the required digits.
References: page 69 (lockpick sequence, key digit rules, light fatigue adjustment)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 61, 68, 69, 70)
Mode: inferred
What are the rules for retreating from battle, and how do they differ for encounters with the Uncover objective?
Retreating from Battle
- The party may agree to retreat at the end of any round.
- If the party retreats, the encounter immediately ends.
- Retreating is useful to avoid likely defeat and save time and resources.
- However, retreating means the encounter is failed, and the party does not gain the rewards for completing it.
- For standard encounters, see "Encounter Results" on page 38 for details on failed encounters.
Source: page 59
Exception: Uncover Objective
- In delve battles with the Uncover objective, the party must retreat after gaining the required skyshards to succeed.
- If the party retreats before fully exploring the battle map (i.e., before gaining all required skyshards), the encounter is failed.
- Unlike other objectives, the party gains XP from each skyshard acquired in the delve—up to the required limit—so long as the entire party is not defeated. This is true even if the party retreats before gaining all required skyshards.
- If the party is entirely defeated, no XP is gained.
Source: page 59, page 86
Summary
- Standard battles: Retreating ends the encounter as a failure, with no rewards.
- Uncover objective: The party must retreat after collecting all required skyshards to succeed. Retreating before this fails the encounter, but partial XP may be gained for skyshards if not all adventurers are defeated.
References:
- Retreating from Battle: page 59
- Battle Objectives (Uncover): page 86
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 53, 54, 57, 59, 86)
Mode: inferred
How do the restrictions on battle form affect the dice that can be rolled together during an engage action, and how does changing battle form during an engage affect fatigue?
Battle Form Restrictions on Dice Rolling
- During an engage action, the battle form you declare determines which dice can be rolled together.
- Battle form icons appear on skill lines, abilities, and weapon items. Only dice from skills, abilities, or items that match your current battle form can be rolled together in a single engage action.
- If you are using a weapon, its battle form icon must match your current battle form to use its ability during the engage action (page 61).
- Dice from skill lines with no battle form must follow the range of your current battle form unless otherwise specified by the ability’s text (page 61).
Changing Battle Form and Fatigue
- At the start of an engage action, you declare your battle form (page 59).
- You may change to another form by marking the new form on your adventurer mat.
- When triggering a class ability (not a standard engage), you may gain 1 light fatigue to change battle form before resolving the ability (page 61).
- For standard engage actions, there is no explicit fatigue cost for changing battle form at the start of the action; you simply declare the form you will use (page 59).
- However, if you are triggering a class ability as an action, you may gain 1 light fatigue to change battle form before resolving the ability (page 61).
Summary
- Battle form restricts which dice (from skills, abilities, and weapons) can be rolled together during an engage action; only those matching the current battle form can be used together.
- Changing battle form at the start of an engage action does not cost fatigue, but changing battle form before resolving a class ability (when using the class ability action) costs 1 light fatigue.
Sources:
- Engage action and battle form restrictions: page 59, page 61
- Changing battle form and fatigue: page 61
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 59, 61, 88)
Mode: inferred
What are the rules and limitations for using weapon items during an engage action, including the triggering of standard and overtax abilities?
Weapon Item Use During Engage Actions
Based on the rulebook context, the following rules and limitations apply when using weapon items during an engage action:
-
One Weapon Per Engage:
You can use only 1 weapon item during each engage action (page 61). -
Battle Form Match:
The weapon's ability's battle form icon must match your current battle form. You must declare your battle form at the start of the engage action (page 61). -
Ability Choice Timing:
You must choose whether to use the weapon's standard ability (and whether to also trigger its overtax ability) during the Gather and Roll Dice Step of the engage action (page 61). -
Standard Ability:
Each weapon has a standard ability that is resolved as part of the engage action (page 29). -
Overtax Ability:
- The overtax ability appears as a sub-header on the weapon's card.
- You may trigger the overtax ability in addition to the standard ability, but you cannot trigger the overtax ability without also triggering the standard ability (page 29).
- If you trigger the overtax ability, after the engage and both item abilities are resolved, the weapon item must be discarded (page 29).
-
Dice Rolling:
The dice you can roll are limited by your current battle form, and only dice from skill lines matching that form can be rolled together (page 61).
Summary
- Only one weapon can be used per engage action.
- The weapon's battle form must match your current battle form.
- You must choose to use the weapon's standard and/or overtax ability before rolling dice.
- Overtax can only be triggered with the standard ability, and causes the weapon to be discarded after use.
- Dice rolled are limited by the chosen battle form.
Sources:
Page 29, Page 61
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 29, 59, 61)
Mode: inferred
How does the explore action work in delves, particularly regarding triggering exploration of explorable hexes that are occupied or already explored, and how does this differ from exploration triggered by moving into a hex?
Explore Action in Delves
Triggering Exploration
There are two main ways to trigger exploration of a hex during a delve:
-
Occupying an Explorable Hex:
- If an adventurer moves into, is placed in, or starts their turn in an explorable hex, they may trigger an exploration.
- This is not considered an explore action.
- The adventurer can continue a move action that was interrupted by this exploration.
- Companion units cannot explore hexes.
- (See page 77: "Occupying an Explorable Hex")
-
Performing an Explore Action:
- An adventurer may perform an explore action targeting an explorable hex in sight.
- The distance to the hex is measured, and if it is within the adventurer’s movement range (based on Stamina), the exploration is triggered.
- (See page 77: "Performing an Explore Action")
Explorable Hexes
A hex is explorable if:
- It has an icon.
- It is an edge hex (at least one edge is not shared with another tile).
- It is not already explored (a hex is explored if it is adjacent to a hex on another tile).
- Not all skyshards have been drawn for the current encounter.
- A hex is explorable whether it is occupied or not.
- (See page 77: "Explorable Hexes")
Already Explored Hexes
- A hex is not explorable if it is already explored (i.e., adjacent to a hex on another tile).
- You cannot trigger exploration (by either method) on a hex that is already explored.
- (See page 77: "It is not already explored...")
Occupied Hexes
- A hex can be explored whether it is occupied or not.
- (See page 77: "A hex is explorable whether it is occupied or not.")
Differences Between Methods
-
Moving Into/Starting in an Explorable Hex:
- Triggers exploration automatically (not an action).
- Can interrupt a move action, which may then continue after resolving exploration.
- (See page 77 and page 59: "Your adventurer’s movement... can be interrupted by abilities or events; if this happens, the interruption is resolved after the adventurer moves into the hex where the interruption is triggered.")
-
Explore Action:
- Is a specific action targeting an explorable hex within movement range.
- Used when you want to explore a hex you are not currently occupying.
- (See page 77: "Performing an Explore Action")
Summary
- Exploration can only be triggered on explorable hexes (not already explored, may be occupied or unoccupied).
- Moving into or starting in an explorable hex triggers exploration automatically (not an action).
- The explore action is used to trigger exploration at range, provided the hex is explorable and within movement range.
- You cannot explore a hex that is already explored by either method.
Source: pages 77, 59.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 59, 75, 77, 79, 80)
Mode: inferred
When a battle ends during the current round after the party has achieved the objective or all units are defeated, when exactly does the battle end relative to the last action performed?
Answer
The battle ends after the current round in which the objective is achieved, the party retreats, or all adventurers are defeated. This means:
- The round is played to completion, including all adventurer, companion, and enemy turns, as well as any end-of-round effects.
- The battle does not end immediately after the last action that fulfills the objective (such as defeating the last enemy or gaining the last required skyshard).
- Only after the current round is fully resolved does the battle end and you proceed to end-of-battle cleanup and the Reward Phase.
This is explicitly stated on page 86:
"A battle ends after the current round when any of the following occur:
- The party achieves the encounter’s objectives.
- The party retreats from battle.
- All adventurers are defeated.
Since the battle ends after the current round in which 1 of these events occurs, the battle does not necessarily end immediately after the last enemy is defeated, even if the party has a Conquer objective."
Summary
The battle ends only after the current round is fully completed, not immediately after the last relevant action.
Source: page 86
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 51, 57, 59, 67, 86)
Mode: inferred
How does the party resolve multiple simultaneous encounters triggered by moving into specific hexes, and what is the precedence between quest encounters, town encounters, and overland encounters?
Encounter Precedence and Resolution
When the party ends its movement in a hex, it may trigger multiple possible encounters. The rulebook specifies a clear order of precedence for resolving these encounters:
-
Quest Encounter:
- These are triggered as described by the party’s current quest step in the gazetteer or by a side quest card.
- Quest encounters take precedence over town or overland encounters, meaning you must resolve the quest encounter that day rather than a town or overland encounter.
- If multiple quest encounters would trigger at the same time, guild quest encounters take precedence over side quest encounters.
-
Town Encounter:
- Triggered when the party ends its move in a town’s hex on the overland map.
- Each town is described in its own entry in the gazetteer.
-
Overland Encounter:
- Triggered when the party moves into a hex with a landmark (peaceful, conflict, or unstable).
- The type of overland card drawn depends on the landmark.
Order of Precedence (from highest to lowest):
- Quest Encounter (guild quest > side quest)
- Town Encounter
- Overland Encounter
Resolution:
- Only the highest-precedence encounter is resolved that day. Lower-precedence encounters are not resolved if a higher-precedence encounter is triggered.
Source
This answer is based on the rules found on page 34:
"Quest encounters take precedence over town or overland encounters, meaning that you must resolve the quest encounter that day rather than a town or overland encounter. If multiple quest encounters would trigger at the same time, guild quest encounters take precedence over side quest encounters."
"Town Encounter ( ): These are triggered when the party ends its move in a town’s hex on the overland map... Overland Encounter: These are triggered when the party moves into a hex with a landmark..."
Summary
- Resolve only the highest-precedence encounter when multiple are triggered.
- Precedence order: Quest (guild > side) > Town > Overland.
Source: page 34.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 34, 36, 38, 41, 46)
Mode: inferred
During the End of Day Phase, what are the exact steps and limitations on adventurers removing dice from their cooldown track and healing, especially when the party must skip the Adventurers Rest step?
End of Day Phase: Steps and Limitations for Healing and Cooldown Track
Standard Steps (when Adventurers Rest is NOT skipped)
Based on page 45 and page 13, the End of Day Phase consists of:
-
Activate Province Effect
- Resolve any province effects as described in the gazetteer.
- Use the overland icon from the current peaceful overland card (draw one if none was drawn during the Overland Phase).
- Discard or cycle the overland card as appropriate.
-
Adventurers Rest
- Healing:
- Apprentice: Heal 2 HP.
- Adept/Expert: Heal 1 HP.
- Defeated adventurers are revived if their HP is raised above 0.
- Remove Dice from Cooldown Track:
- Apprentice: Remove 2 dice (any type, any position).
- Adept/Expert: Remove 1 die (any type, any position).
- This is not a Recovery step and is not impacted by the Cooldown stat (page 45).
- Trade Items:
- Adventurers may trade any number of item cards, move items between ready slots and pack, and discard items.
- Trigger "end of day" effects:
- E.g., Guild Assist or other abilities with this timing.
- Healing:
Limitations When Adventurers Rest is Skipped
- If the party must skip the Adventurers Rest step (as described in the example on page 45):
- No healing occurs.
- No dice are removed from the cooldown track.
- No item trading or movement between slots/pack.
- No "end of day" effects with this timing are triggered.
Example (from page 45)
- If an encounter or effect causes the party to skip Adventurers Rest:
- Adventurers do not heal.
- Adventurers do not remove dice from their cooldown track.
- Adventurers do not trade or move items.
- Any dice (such as fatigue) remain in the cooldown track.
Summary
- If Adventurers Rest is resolved:
- Heal and remove dice as per difficulty, trade items, and trigger "end of day" effects.
- If Adventurers Rest is skipped:
- None of the above actions occur; all cooldown dice and HP remain unchanged.
Source: page 45 (End of Day Phase and Example), page 13 (Difficulty Levels and Healing), page 23 (Cooldown Track details).
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 23, 45, 51)
Mode: inferred
What are the conditions and limitations for untraining skill lines, skill dice, or stats during the Reward Phase, and can previously untrained Magicka be retrained?
Untraining During the Reward Phase
Based on the rules from page 43 and page 31:
Conditions and Limitations for Untraining
-
When:
Untraining is allowed during the Reward Phase, specifically in step 2: "Untrain." -
What Can Be Untrained:
- Skill lines: You may untrain and remove any skill lines.
- If a skill line is untrained, all dice for that line must also be removed.
- Skill dice: You may untrain and remove any skill dice.
- When untraining skill dice, slide the remaining dice along the row toward the skill line token to fill any gaps, so the farthest slots are empty and there are no gaps between dice.
- Stat tokens: You may untrain and remove stat tokens (square tokens) except as noted below.
- Skill lines: You may untrain and remove any skill lines.
-
What Cannot Be Untrained:
- The Health and Stamina stats, as well as the Combat skill line, cannot be untrained (i.e., their circular tokens cannot be removed), but their square tokens or dice can be untrained.
- The Magicka stat can be untrained.
-
XP Recovery:
- XP spent on advancements that are untrained is not regained.
Retraining Magicka
- If you have untrained your Magicka stat, you can add it again as if it were a skill line by visiting any trainer (page 31).
Summary
- During the Reward Phase, you may untrain and remove any skill lines, skill dice, or stat tokens (except for the circular tokens for Health, Stamina, and Combat skill line).
- XP spent on untrained advancements is not refunded.
- If you untrain Magicka, you may retrain it later by visiting any trainer.
Sources:
- Reward Phase and Untraining: page 43
- Advancements and Magicka retraining: page 31
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 19, 22, 31, 43, 89)
Mode: inferred
How are skill dice recovered from the cooldown track during the Recovery step and what is the interaction with drained and exhausted dice?
Recovery of Skill Dice from the Cooldown Track
Based on the rulebook context (page 23), the process for recovering skill dice from the cooldown track during the Recovery step is as follows:
-
Cooldown Stat: The number of dice you remove from your cooldown track during the Recovery step is equal to your Cooldown stat. Start from the left and remove dice equal to your stat value. Slide the remaining dice as far left as possible toward the edge of the track.
-
Recovering Dice:
- When an exhausted skill die is removed from the cooldown track by your Recovery step (or another effect), you recover that die. Place it in the correct slot in your attribute rows. That die is immediately available to use.
- When a status effect die is removed from the cooldown track, return it to the supply.
-
Drained Dice:
- A drained die can only be recovered by an effect that specifically recovers drained dice, by visiting an inn during a town encounter, or during the Adventurers Rest step of the End of Day Phase. Drained dice are not recovered by the normal Recovery step.
Interaction Between Drained and Exhausted Dice
- Exhausted skill dice in the cooldown track are recovered during the Recovery step as described above.
- Drained dice are not in the cooldown track; they are placed on the adventurer’s race sheet and are unavailable for the remainder of the battle. They require special recovery methods and are not affected by the normal Recovery step.
Summary
- During the Recovery step, remove a number of dice from the cooldown track equal to your Cooldown stat, starting from the left.
- Exhausted skill dice removed this way are recovered and become available for use.
- Drained dice are not in the cooldown track and cannot be recovered by the Recovery step; they require special effects or specific game phases to recover.
Source: page 23.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 23, 24, 60, 61, 96)
Mode: inferred
When an adventurer gains bonus HP, how is damage applied between bonus HP and regular HP, and how does true damage affect bonus HP?
Damage Application: Bonus HP vs. Regular HP
- When an adventurer gains bonus HP, these chips are kept in a separate stack from their regular HP chips (page 20, page 89).
- When the adventurer takes damage, the following applies:
- Bonus HP chips are removed first before removing regular HP chips from under the adventurer chip (page 20).
- Bonus HP can exceed the adventurer’s Health stat and is not counted toward the maximum HP limit (page 20, page 89).
True Damage and Bonus HP
- True damage is a special type of damage that:
- Cannot be prevented or reduced by abilities unless they specifically affect true damage (page 63).
- Ignores any bonus HP and reduces the unit’s regular HP instead (page 20, page 63).
- When an adventurer takes true damage, bonus HP is not removed; only regular HP is reduced.
Summary
- Normal damage: Remove bonus HP first, then regular HP.
- True damage: Ignore bonus HP; remove regular HP only.
Sources:
- Page 20 (Bonus HP rules)
- Page 63 (True damage rules)
- Page 89 (Gaining Bonus HP)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 20, 31, 63, 89, 90)
Mode: inferred
What happens if the cooldown track of an adventurer is full and they must add additional dice due to fatigue or status effects?
If an adventurer's cooldown track is full (can hold up to 13 dice) and they must add additional dice (such as from fatigue or status effects), the following steps are taken:
- If the track is full and a die must be placed in it:
- That die must either be drained (if it is a skill die) or returned to the supply (if it is a fatigue or status die).
- Then, replace the rightmost non-overfatigue die in the track with an overfatigue die.
- The replaced die must also either be drained (if a skill die) or returned to the supply (if a fatigue or status die).
This process ensures that the cooldown track never exceeds its maximum capacity, and introduces overfatigue as a penalty for exceeding the limit.
Source: page 23
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 23, 24, 45, 60, 89)
Mode: inferred
How is the enemy pool calculated and spent when deploying enemies in clash, delve, and dungeon modes, especially when required quest units or specific enemies must be included?
Enemy Pool Calculation and Spending
General Calculation (All Modes)
- Enemy Pool (EP) is calculated by multiplying the party’s total XP (as shown on the XP Dial) by the number of adventurers.
- The EP is used to determine the total level value of enemies that can be deployed.
- When deploying, always draw the highest level enemy possible without exceeding the remaining EP.
- Subtract each enemy’s level value (1, 5, 10, or 20) from the EP as it is deployed.
- Any EP remaining after all required enemy hexes are filled is not used.
- If a specific type or named enemy is required and a drawn chip does not meet the requirement, set it aside and redraw until the required enemy is drawn. Return set-aside chips to the bag after deployment. If not enough units are available, deploy as many as possible.
Source: page 54
Clash Mode
- EP Calculation: As above.
- Deployment:
- Deploy enemies to numbered hexes on the clash setup diagram, starting with Hex 1.
- Draw the highest level enemy possible for each hex, subtracting its value from the EP.
- Stop when all numbered hexes are filled or the EP is spent.
- Any remaining EP is not used.
- Required Enemies: If the encounter specifies certain enemies, only deploy those, redrawing as needed.
Source: page 71, page 54
Delve Mode
- EP Calculation: As above, but calculated for each revealed tile based on the challenge scale and icons on the tile.
- Deployment:
- For each new tile, use the EP to draw and deploy enemies as indicated by the challenge scale on the delve card.
- Deploy to the farthest hex from the entry point, then next farthest, etc.
- Stop when the EP is spent, all enemies on the challenge scale are deployed, or no unoccupied hexes remain.
- Required Enemies: If a specific enemy is required, redraw as needed.
Source: page 78, page 54
Dungeon Mode
- EP Calculation: As above.
- Deployment:
- Deploy objective units or specified components first, as per the encounter text.
- Then, deploy enemies to numbered hexes in order, using the EP to draw the highest level enemy possible for each hex.
- For special hexes (star or lettered), deploy as specified by the encounter text, possibly using a separate EP calculation.
- Stop when all numbered hexes are filled or the EP is spent.
- Required Enemies: If the encounter specifies certain enemies, only deploy those, redrawing as needed.
Source: page 82, page 54
Summary
- EP = Party XP × Number of Adventurers
- Spend EP by deploying the highest level enemies possible to required hexes, following the specific mode’s deployment rules.
- Required quest units or specific enemies: Redraw until the required enemy is drawn; set aside non-matching chips and return them after deployment.
- Unused EP is lost if all required hexes are filled.
References: pages 54, 57, 71, 78, 82.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 54, 57, 71, 78, 82)
Mode: inferred
What are the exact timing steps for resolving multiple triggered effects with the same 'when', 'before', or 'after' timing during battle rounds?
Timing Steps for Resolving Multiple Triggered Effects
When multiple effects are triggered with the same timing (such as when
, before
, or after
a specific event), the rulebook provides the following guidance:
- Effects must be resolved one at a time. Each effect must be completely resolved before resolving the next effect.
- If different effects are resolved with the same timing, the players decide the order in which those effects are resolved.
Definitions of Timing Terms
- A "when" effect is resolved immediately when the triggering event occurs.
- An "after" effect is resolved immediately following the triggering event.
- A "before" effect is resolved immediately before the triggering event.
Special Case: Multiple Effects from a Single Ability
- If an ability has multiple effects with the same timing, and some can be resolved while others cannot, resolve the effects that can be resolved and ignore those that cannot.
Application During Battle Rounds
- During battle rounds, if multiple abilities or effects are triggered at the same timing point (e.g., multiple "after" effects after an enemy is defeated), the players collectively choose the order in which to resolve them, one at a time, fully resolving each before moving to the next.
Source: page 88
This answer is based on the "Effect Timing" section on page 88, which details the resolution order and player choice for effects with the same timing.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 57, 63, 67, 88)
Mode: inferred
When an enemy must move toward a target but multiple routes are available, who decides the path the enemy takes and what happens if no valid path exists?
Answer
When an enemy must move toward a target and multiple routes are available, the party chooses the route the enemy takes.
- This is stated as:
"If multiple routes are possible, the party chooses the route."
(page 58)
If no valid path exists (for example, if all possible routes are blocked by impassable or occupied hexes), the enemy cannot move to the destination hex. The rulebook does not specify an alternative action in this case, so the enemy would not move.
Source
- Page 58: "If multiple routes are possible, the party chooses the route."
- Page 58: Rules for impassable and occupied hexes, and movement restrictions.
This answer is derived directly from the movement and map definitions on page 58.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 58, 64, 65)
Mode: inferred
How does an adventurer determine which dice to gather when performing multiple engage actions in a single turn and how does fatigue accumulate with each additional engage?
Determining Dice for Multiple Engage Actions
When an adventurer performs an engage action, they:
- Roll a number of available skill dice up to their Stamina or Magicka stat, as appropriate for each skill (page 59).
- The specific dice that can be rolled are determined by the adventurer’s battle form (see Battle Form, page 61). The battle form limits which dice can be rolled together and sets the adventurer’s range.
For each engage action:
- The adventurer chooses which available skill dice to roll, within the limits of their current battle form and their Stamina or Magicka stat.
Fatigue Accumulation
- First engage action each turn: No fatigue is gained.
- Each additional engage action in the same turn: The adventurer must gain 1 light fatigue for each additional engage action (if playing on Expert difficulty, gain 2 light fatigue instead of 1) (page 59).
Summary
- For each engage action, select available skill dice up to your Stamina or Magicka, as allowed by your current battle form.
- No fatigue is gained for the first engage action in a turn.
- For each subsequent engage action in the same turn, gain 1 light fatigue (or 2 on Expert difficulty).
Source: page 59 (Engage action rules and fatigue), page 61 (Battle Form and dice selection).
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 59, 61, 88, 89)