What are the rules and limitations for using weapon items during an engage action, including the triggering of standard and overtax abilities?
Official Answer
Weapon Item Use During Engage Actions
Based on the rulebook context, the following rules and limitations apply when using weapon items during an engage action:
-
One Weapon Per Engage:
You can use only 1 weapon item during each engage action (page 61). -
Battle Form Match:
The weapon's ability's battle form icon must match your current battle form. You must declare your battle form at the start of the engage action (page 61). -
Ability Choice Timing:
You must choose whether to use the weapon's standard ability (and whether to also trigger its overtax ability) during the Gather and Roll Dice Step of the engage action (page 61). -
Standard Ability:
Each weapon has a standard ability that is resolved as part of the engage action (page 29). -
Overtax Ability:
- The overtax ability appears as a sub-header on the weapon's card.
- You may trigger the overtax ability in addition to the standard ability, but you cannot trigger the overtax ability without also triggering the standard ability (page 29).
- If you trigger the overtax ability, after the engage and both item abilities are resolved, the weapon item must be discarded (page 29).
-
Dice Rolling:
The dice you can roll are limited by your current battle form, and only dice from skill lines matching that form can be rolled together (page 61).
Summary
- Only one weapon can be used per engage action.
- The weapon's battle form must match your current battle form.
- You must choose to use the weapon's standard and/or overtax ability before rolling dice.
- Overtax can only be triggered with the standard ability, and causes the weapon to be discarded after use.
- Dice rolled are limited by the chosen battle form.
Sources:
Page 29, Page 61
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 29, 59, 61)