How does the explore action work in delves, particularly regarding triggering exploration of explorable hexes that are occupied or already explored, and how does this differ from exploration triggered by moving into a hex?
inferred
📖
Official Answer
Explore Action in Delves
Triggering Exploration
There are two main ways to trigger exploration of a hex during a delve:
-
Occupying an Explorable Hex:
- If an adventurer moves into, is placed in, or starts their turn in an explorable hex, they may trigger an exploration.
- This is not considered an explore action.
- The adventurer can continue a move action that was interrupted by this exploration.
- Companion units cannot explore hexes.
- (See page 77: "Occupying an Explorable Hex")
-
Performing an Explore Action:
- An adventurer may perform an explore action targeting an explorable hex in sight.
- The distance to the hex is measured, and if it is within the adventurer’s movement range (based on Stamina), the exploration is triggered.
- (See page 77: "Performing an Explore Action")
Explorable Hexes
A hex is explorable if:
- It has an icon.
- It is an edge hex (at least one edge is not shared with another tile).
- It is not already explored (a hex is explored if it is adjacent to a hex on another tile).
- Not all skyshards have been drawn for the current encounter.
- A hex is explorable whether it is occupied or not.
- (See page 77: "Explorable Hexes")
Already Explored Hexes
- A hex is not explorable if it is already explored (i.e., adjacent to a hex on another tile).
- You cannot trigger exploration (by either method) on a hex that is already explored.
- (See page 77: "It is not already explored...")
Occupied Hexes
- A hex can be explored whether it is occupied or not.
- (See page 77: "A hex is explorable whether it is occupied or not.")
Differences Between Methods
-
Moving Into/Starting in an Explorable Hex:
- Triggers exploration automatically (not an action).
- Can interrupt a move action, which may then continue after resolving exploration.
- (See page 77 and page 59: "Your adventurer’s movement... can be interrupted by abilities or events; if this happens, the interruption is resolved after the adventurer moves into the hex where the interruption is triggered.")
-
Explore Action:
- Is a specific action targeting an explorable hex within movement range.
- Used when you want to explore a hex you are not currently occupying.
- (See page 77: "Performing an Explore Action")
Summary
- Exploration can only be triggered on explorable hexes (not already explored, may be occupied or unoccupied).
- Moving into or starting in an explorable hex triggers exploration automatically (not an action).
- The explore action is used to trigger exploration at range, provided the hex is explorable and within movement range.
- You cannot explore a hex that is already explored by either method.
Source: pages 77, 59.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 59, 75, 77, 79, 80)