Rulora logo

Rulora

How are skill dice recovered from the cooldown track during the Recovery step and what is the interaction with drained and exhausted dice?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

Recovery of Skill Dice from the Cooldown Track

Based on the rulebook context (page 23), the process for recovering skill dice from the cooldown track during the Recovery step is as follows:

  • Cooldown Stat: The number of dice you remove from your cooldown track during the Recovery step is equal to your Cooldown stat. Start from the left and remove dice equal to your stat value. Slide the remaining dice as far left as possible toward the edge of the track.

  • Recovering Dice:

    • When an exhausted skill die is removed from the cooldown track by your Recovery step (or another effect), you recover that die. Place it in the correct slot in your attribute rows. That die is immediately available to use.
    • When a status effect die is removed from the cooldown track, return it to the supply.
  • Drained Dice:

    • A drained die can only be recovered by an effect that specifically recovers drained dice, by visiting an inn during a town encounter, or during the Adventurers Rest step of the End of Day Phase. Drained dice are not recovered by the normal Recovery step.

Interaction Between Drained and Exhausted Dice

  • Exhausted skill dice in the cooldown track are recovered during the Recovery step as described above.
  • Drained dice are not in the cooldown track; they are placed on the adventurer’s race sheet and are unavailable for the remainder of the battle. They require special recovery methods and are not affected by the normal Recovery step.

Summary

  • During the Recovery step, remove a number of dice from the cooldown track equal to your Cooldown stat, starting from the left.
  • Exhausted skill dice removed this way are recovered and become available for use.
  • Drained dice are not in the cooldown track and cannot be recovered by the Recovery step; they require special effects or specific game phases to recover.

Source: page 23.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 23, 24, 60, 61, 96)

Question ID: #356

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.