Rulora logo

Rulora

Red Rising

20 Questions Answered

📘 Available Rulebooks:

Answered Questions

Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.

Mode: inferred

If a player is required to place Influence on the Institute but has none left, do they forfeit the placement or can they move one from the board back to the supply to place again?

A player who is required to place Influence on the Institute but has already placed all 10 of their Influence tokens cannot place more. They do not move an Influence token from the board or return one to the supply to place again; they simply forfeit the placement.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "If you’ve already placed all 10 of your tokens, you can’t place more."
    (Page 5, Location Bonuses section)

Therefore, the placement is forfeited if you have no Influence tokens left to place.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 7)

Mode: inferred

If the game end is triggered by one player meeting two of the thresholds, does the game end immediately or after all players have taken the same number of turns?

The game does not end immediately when one player meets two of the thresholds. Instead, you finish taking turns until each player has taken the same number of turns in the game. If Apollo is an active house, they take the last turn (this is an extra turn).

This is stated on page 6:

The end of the game is triggered when all 3 of these conditions are met by any combination of players OR when any 2 conditions are met by the same player:

Finish taking turns until each player has taken the same number of turns in the game. If Apollo is an active house, they take the last turn (this is an extra turn).

Source: page 6.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 2, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

If the deck runs out and a player must reveal or draw a card from the deck as part of an effect, what do they do?

If the deck runs out, the deck simply ceases to be an option for players to draw from or interact with. Therefore, if a player must reveal or draw a card from the deck as part of an effect and the deck is empty, they cannot perform that part of the effect.

This is stated under "Edge Cases" on page 3:

  • "Deck runs out: If there are no cards in the deck, the deck simply ceases to be an option for players to draw from or interact with."

Source: page 3

So, any effect that requires revealing or drawing from the deck cannot be completed if the deck is empty.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 4, 6)

Mode: inferred

If a card instructs you to 'gain' a card from a location, does this count as your gain step in the Lead action, or is it a separate effect allowing you to gain additional cards that turn?

If a card instructs you to "gain" a card from a location, this does not count as your gain step in the Lead action; it is a separate effect that allows you to gain additional cards that turn.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • From page 3:

    "Do not gain a location’s bonus if you gain a card through other means (e.g., if a character card says, 'Gain the top card from Luna')."

This indicates that gaining a card via a card ability is distinct from the gain step of the Lead action, which is the only time you also gain the location’s bonus. Therefore, you may gain additional cards in a turn if a card ability allows it, and you still perform the normal gain step of the Lead action.

Source: page 3.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

When a Gray card allows you to treat it as another color, does this count for all relevant card scoring and conditional checks or only for specific abilities?

When a Gray card says, "You may treat this card as if it is any one other color (in addition to Gray)," you may treat that card as an additional color for purposes of scoring and any effects that care about card color.

  • This means the Gray card counts as both Gray and the chosen color.
  • This applies to scoring more points if a card needs or values another color.
  • The rulebook states: "lets you treat each Gray card as an additional color (i.e., to score more points if a card needs or values another color)" (page 6).

Therefore, this effect is not limited to specific abilities but applies to all relevant card scoring and conditional checks that refer to card color.

Source: page 6, rulebook.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 4, 6)

Mode: inferred

Can a player voluntarily choose not to trigger an optional deploy ability that would end their turn early, or must they resolve it if possible?

A player may choose not to trigger an optional deploy ability that would end their turn early, if the ability gives them the option not to use it.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "If possible, trigger the deploy ability ( ) of the card played, unless it gives you the option not to (e.g., 'You may gain...')."
    (page 3)

If the deploy ability is worded as optional (using "You may..."), the player can choose not to use it, and therefore avoid ending their turn early. If the ability is not optional, the player must resolve it if possible, even if it ends their turn early.

Source: page 3

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 4, 6)

Mode: inferred

If a deploy ability instructs you to banish a card from a location but that location is empty, what happens?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context does not specify what to do if a deploy ability instructs you to banish a card from a location but that location is empty. There are no general rules or edge case clarifications in the excerpts that address this situation. To answer definitively, the rulebook would need to state what to do when an effect cannot be fully resolved due to an empty location.

Source: No relevant rule found in the provided context from pages 1, 3, 4, or 5.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 4, 5)

Mode: inferred

If a card refers to 'banished cards,' does this include only those banished by the player or all banished cards regardless of source?

If a card refers to "banished cards," it includes all banished cards regardless of which player banished them. The rulebook states:

“A few end-game bonuses refer to the pile of cards that were banished during the game. It doesn’t matter which player banished these cards.”
(page 6)

This means the term "banished cards" always refers to the entire pile of banished cards, not just those banished by a specific player.

Source: page 6

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 4, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

Can a player ever gain bonus effects from a location when gaining a card outside the Lead or Scout actions, such as through a deploy ability or special effect?

No, a player does not gain bonus effects from a location when gaining a card outside the Lead or Scout actions.

This is explicitly stated in the rules:

  • "Unless otherwise specified, the bonuses gained from Leading and Scouting are only triggered when taking those actions. Do not gain a location’s bonus if you gain a card through other means (e.g., if a character card says, 'Gain the top card from Luna')."
    (Page 3, Notes section)

Therefore, if you gain a card from a location due to a deploy ability or any special effect that is not part of the Lead or Scout actions, you do not gain that location's bonus.

Source: page 3, Notes section.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

If two or more players are tied for the most Influence on the Institute, do both receive the higher point value, or is it split in some way?

If two or more players are tied for the most Influence at the Institute, all tied players receive the higher point value (4 points per Influence). The rulebook states:

"The player(s) with the most Influence at the Institute gain 4 points for each of their Influence there. The player(s) with the second most Influence at the Institute gain 2 points per Influence. All other players gain 1 point per Influence."
Page 7

The use of "player(s)" indicates that all tied players receive the full value for their position, not a split or shared value.

This is further clarified in the example:

"Jamey and Megan each have 10 Influence tokens on the Institute, Biddy has 5, and Walter has 2. Jamey and Megan would each gain 40 points, Biddy would gain 10 points, and Walter would gain 2 points."
Page 7

Summary: All tied players for most Influence receive the full 4 points per Influence.
Source: page 7

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 5, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

When scoring Influence at the Institute in a two-player game, how do the neutral tokens affect tiebreakers and majority calculations?

Influence Scoring at the Institute in a Two-Player Game

  • In a two-player game, 3 non-player Influence tokens (neutral tokens) are placed on the Institute at setup (page 2).
  • At end-game scoring, these 3 neutral tokens are included in the comparison as if they were the Influence of a third house (page 7).

How Neutral Tokens Affect Scoring:

  • When determining who has the most and second-most Influence at the Institute, compare each player's Influence to the neutral tokens as a third "player."
  • The player(s) with the most Influence (including the neutral tokens as a possible contender) gain 4 points per Influence they have at the Institute.
  • The player(s) with the second-most Influence gain 2 points per Influence.
  • All other players gain 1 point per Influence.

Tiebreakers and Majority:

  • If a player is tied with the neutral tokens for most or second-most, they are considered to share that position.
  • The rules do not specify a special tiebreaker for the neutral tokens; they are treated exactly as a third house for the purposes of majority and ties.

Example (from page 7):

"In a 2-player game, 3 non-player Influence tokens start on the Institute. The 2 players will include those 3 tokens in the end-game comparison as if they were the Influence of a third house."

Summary

  • Neutral tokens count as a third house for majority and tiebreaker purposes.
  • Ties with the neutral tokens are treated as normal ties for majority/second-most.
  • Scoring is based on the position (most, second-most, other) after including the neutral tokens in the comparison.

Source: page 7.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

If a player would gain the Sovereign token but already has it, do they still trigger their house ability?

Yes, a player still triggers their house ability when they would gain the Sovereign token, even if they already have it.

This is stated in the rulebook:

  • "Each house tile has an ability that is triggered whenever you gain the Sovereign token (even if you already have it). Typically this will happen by gaining a card from Luna, but it also applies to any card ability from which you would gain the Sovereign token, as well as rolling Luna on the Rising die. First gain the Sovereign token, then trigger the ability. These house abilities must be resolved if possible."
    (Page 5)

This means the house ability is always triggered when you "gain" the Sovereign token, regardless of whether you already possess it.

Source: page 5

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 5, 7)

Mode: inferred

If you have more than 7 cards at the end of the game, do you lose 10 points for each card over 7 even if you have cards with negative end-game point values?

Yes, you lose 10 points for each card in your hand beyond the 7th card, regardless of whether any of your cards have negative end-game point values.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "Excess cards: For each card in your hand beyond the 7th card, lose 10 points. At this time you’ve already accounted for other points from these cards—those points are still valid. This penalty represents the unwieldiness of managing a larger house and encourages players to focus on cards that work well together, not simply more cards."
    (Page 7)

This means:

  • You first total all points (positive or negative) from your cards' core values and end-game bonuses.
  • Then, for each card over 7, you subtract 10 points, regardless of the cards' other point values.

Example:
If you have 9 cards, you lose 20 points (10 for the 8th card, 10 for the 9th card), even if some of those cards have negative end-game points.

Source: page 7.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 4, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

When a card says 'You may treat this card as having the same name as any specific character,' can you change the name multiple times in a turn or only once?

I don't know based on the rulebook.

The rulebook context on page 6 explains that the text "You may treat this card as having the same name as any specific character" allows you to change the name of the card to another character’s name, and that all other aspects of the card stay the same. However, it does not specify whether you can change the name multiple times in a turn or only once. There are no timing or frequency restrictions provided in the context.

To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to clarify whether this ability can be used repeatedly or only once per turn or per game.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 4, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

If a deploy ability instructs you to deploy another card, do you trigger the deploy abilities of both cards, and can you still complete the Lead action afterward?

If a deploy ability instructs you to deploy another card, you do the following:

  • Deploy the additional card face up on any location and trigger its deploy ability (if any).
  • This concludes the deployment sequence.
  • You may still perform the final step of the Lead action only once.

This means:

  • You trigger the deploy abilities of both the original card and the additional card you deploy.
  • After resolving both deploy abilities, you proceed to the final step of the Lead action (either gain the top card of another location and its bonus, or gain the top card of the deck and roll the Rising die), but you do this only once per Lead action.

Source: page 3, "The deploy ability of some cards may instruct you to deploy another card. As usual, deploy that card face up on any location and trigger its deploy ability (if any). This concludes the deployment. You may still perform the final step of the LEAD action only once."

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

If a deploy ability lets you gain a card from the same location you just deployed to, can you immediately pick up that card, or must you choose a different location for your Lead gain?

You may immediately gain a card from the same location you just deployed to if a deploy ability allows it, but this is separate from the normal Lead gain step.

  • If a deploy ability specifically instructs you to "gain" a card from the location you just deployed to, you follow that instruction as part of resolving the deploy ability.
  • However, when you reach the final step of the Lead action (after deploying and resolving the deploy ability), you must "gain the top card of a location that you did not deploy to this turn" (see page 3).

This means:

  • Deploy abilities can let you gain cards from the same location you just deployed to.
  • The Lead action's gain step must target a different location than the one you deployed to this turn.

Source: page 3
"Gain the top card of a location that you did not deploy to this turn, then gain that location’s bonus."
"The deploy abilities of some cards instruct you to 'end your turn.' This indicates that you may not proceed to gain the top card of a location or the deck and the corresponding bonus."
"Do not gain a location’s bonus if you gain a card through other means (e.g., if a character card says, 'Gain the top card from Luna')."

Summary:

  • Deploy abilities can let you gain a card from the same location you just deployed to.
  • The Lead action's gain step must always target a different location.
  • Gaining a card via a deploy ability does not replace or affect the requirement for the Lead gain step.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

When gaining a card from a location with a stacked pile, do you only take the top card, and what happens to the cards underneath?

Answer

When you gain a card from a location with a stacked pile, you only take the top card of that location. The cards underneath remain at the location, maintaining their order.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "Gain the top card of a location that you did not deploy to this turn, then gain that location’s bonus."
    (Page 3)

There is no mention of taking more than the top card, and the rules specify that you may always look through the cards on each location, but they must remain in the same order. Thus, the cards underneath stay at the location until they become the new top card and are gained in a future action.

Source: page 3.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

If you have zero cards in hand and must Lead, how do you resolve a deploy ability that would normally trigger upon playing a card?

If you have zero cards in hand and must Lead, you skip the deploy portion of the Lead action because you have no card in hand to deploy. Therefore, no deploy ability is triggered.

This is stated in the rulebook:

  • "Zero cards in hand: If you have no cards in your hand, you can still either Lead or Scout on your turn. If you Lead, skip the deploy portion of the Lead action (as you have no card in hand to deploy)."
    (Page 3)

Since you skip deploying a card, there is no deploy ability to resolve.

Source: page 3

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 4, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

If a deploy ability says 'end your turn,' do you still gain any location or Rising die bonuses associated with the Lead action?

No, if a deploy ability says "end your turn," you do not gain any location or Rising die bonuses associated with the Lead action.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "The deploy abilities of some cards instruct you to 'end your turn.' This indicates that you may not proceed to gain the top card of a location or the deck and the corresponding bonus."
    (Page 3)

Therefore, when a deploy ability ends your turn, you skip the step where you would gain a card from another location or the deck, and you do not receive the associated bonus.

Source: page 3.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

When a card's deploy ability instructs you to move or place a card on a location, does the moved card trigger its deploy ability or location bonus?

A card that is moved or placed on a location by a deploy ability does not trigger its deploy ability or the location bonus.

This is supported by the following rules:

  • "If a card instructs you to move or place a card, it does not count as a deploy action."
    (Page 3)

  • The deploy ability is only triggered when you "deploy" a card, not when you "move" or "place" it by other means.
    (Page 3: "If a card instructs you to move or place a card, it does not count as a deploy action.")

  • Location bonuses are only gained when taking the Lead or Scout actions, not when a card is moved or placed by an ability.
    (Page 3: "Unless otherwise specified, the bonuses gained from Leading and Scouting are only triggered when taking those actions. Do not gain a location’s bonus if you gain a card through other means...")

Summary

  • Moved or placed cards do not trigger their deploy abilities.
  • Moved or placed cards do not grant the location bonus.

Source: page 3.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)