The Stifling Dark
✅ 20 Questions Answered
📘 Available Rulebooks:
- Core Rules online_version
Answered Questions
Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.
Mode: inferred
If an Investigator is moved involuntarily (such as by The Horror's Ambush), and they were carrying a Flashlight, is the Flashlight removed immediately before or after the movement, and could this impact which spaces become Bright or Reveal tokens?
If an Investigator is forced to move after placing a Flashlight, the Flashlight is removed from the board immediately before the movement occurs. This timing is important because it determines which spaces are Bright and which tokens or Adversaries are Revealed.
Rulebook Support
-
From page 9:
"If an Investigator is forced to move after placing a Flashlight, the Flashlight is removed from the board. This is more common when facing specific Adversaries such as The Insatiable Horror (p.A2)." -
The context of this rule is that the Flashlight does not remain on the board during the forced movement; it is removed as a direct result of the forced movement trigger.
Impact on Bright Spaces and Revealing
- Since the Flashlight is removed before the Investigator is moved, any spaces that were Bright due to the Flashlight immediately become non-Bright.
- Only spaces that were Bright at the moment the Flashlight was present will Reveal Hidden tokens or the Adversary. Once the Flashlight is removed, no new spaces become Bright, and no further tokens are Revealed as a result of the movement.
- Tokens or Adversaries that were already Revealed remain Revealed, even after the Flashlight is removed (page 9).
Summary
The Flashlight is removed immediately before the Investigator is involuntarily moved. This means only the spaces that were Bright while the Flashlight was present can Reveal tokens or the Adversary. The removal of the Flashlight before movement prevents any new spaces from being Bright or Revealing tokens as a result of the forced movement.
Source: page 9.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 12, 19, 22, 8, 9)
Mode: inferred
When the Adversary uses the Break Door Action from a distance (such as The Horror's ability within 3 spaces), are Noise tokens or other effects placed as if they had physically moved through the Door?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context explains the Break Door Action for both general Adversaries and The Horror, including the ability to break a Door within 3 spaces (page 23), but it does not specify whether Noise tokens or other effects are placed when breaking a Door from a distance, as opposed to physically moving through it.
The rules for Noise tokens (page 7) state they are typically placed due to Items, Abilities, or Moving through certain Map Hazards (such as a Window), but do not mention Doors or the Break Door Action.
To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to specify whether breaking a Door from a distance triggers the same effects as moving through it, such as placing Noise tokens or other markers. This information is not present in the provided context.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 22, 23, 26, 28, 7)
Mode: inferred
If a Bright token is placed on a Zone but a Faltering Lights token is already present, what happens to the attempted Brightening of the Zone?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context defines the effects of Bright tokens (page 8, page 11) and how they override printed light states, but there is no mention or definition of a "Faltering Lights token" in the supplied rulebook pages. The interaction between a Bright token and a Faltering Lights token is not addressed, so the rulebook context is insufficient to answer this question. To resolve this, a definition or rules for "Faltering Lights token" and its interaction with Bright tokens would be needed.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 11, 12, 23, 7, 8)
Mode: inferred
Does the Adversary have to update all Shadow tokens before taking any Actions on their turn, or can they update them as Actions are performed if rules conflict?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context does not specify a required timing for updating all Shadow tokens before taking Actions, nor does it mention a general rule for updating Shadow tokens at the start of the Adversary's turn. The rules on page 28 state that "if your Shadow token is already on the board when you have to place it, update it to the new location," and that Shadow tokens are placed as required by cards or Actions. There is also a "Golden Rule" on page 7 stating that if rules conflict, the rule on the card takes precedence over the general rules in the rulebook.
To answer definitively, the rulebook would need to specify a timing for updating Shadow tokens or clarify if all must be updated at the start of the turn. As it stands, Shadow tokens are updated as required by the specific card or Action being performed.
Source: page 28, page 7
Source: Core Rules (pp. 2, 28, 7)
Mode: inferred
If multiple Investigators attempt to escape via the same Objective in the same round, but only some succeed (due to space or timing), do the remaining Investigators get another chance later or are they left behind?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The provided context does not specify what happens if multiple Investigators attempt to escape via the same Objective in the same round but only some succeed, nor does it clarify whether the remaining Investigators get another chance to escape in a later round or are left behind. The rules on page 15 state that "Any Investigators who have not escaped and are still on the board after the final round count as being killed," but do not address partial escapes within a round or restrictions on subsequent escape attempts.
To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to clarify:
- Whether the escape Objective can be used multiple times or by multiple Investigators in different rounds.
- If there are any restrictions on attempting to escape after a failed or partial group escape.
Source: page 15.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 15, 16, 2, 6, 7)
Mode: inferred
When using a Secret Passage token, do players pay MP to move through it, and does the passage affect line of sight or light levels between the connected spaces?
Secret Passage Token Rules
Based on the rulebook context (page 18), here is how the Secret Passage token works:
-
Movement Cost:
The rulebook states:"These spaces now count as adjacent and can be Moved through by all players."
This means that when a Secret Passage connects two spaces, those spaces are considered adjacent for movement purposes.
Players pay the normal MP cost to move between adjacent spaces, as determined by the light level of the destination space (see page 8 and page 19 for movement and adjacency rules).
There is no indication that the Secret Passage changes the MP cost beyond making the spaces adjacent. -
Line of Sight and Light Levels:
The rulebook states:"Secret Passages do not change line of sight or the light level of the underlying spaces."
This means:- The Secret Passage does not allow line of sight between the connected spaces if it would not normally exist.
- The light level (Bright, Dim, or Dark) of each space remains unchanged by the Secret Passage.
Summary
- Players pay the normal MP cost to move through a Secret Passage, based on the light level of the destination space.
- The Secret Passage does not affect line of sight or light levels between the connected spaces.
Source: page 18.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 11, 18, 19, 8)
Mode: inferred
If an Investigator dies and becomes a Spirit, do any Conditions or Wounds they had carry over to the Spirit, or are they completely reset?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context explains what happens when an Investigator dies and becomes a Spirit (page 11): their player board and its associated tokens are returned to the box, and they keep all their Items, Evidence, and their standee. However, it does not specify whether Conditions or Wounds are kept, discarded, or otherwise handled during this transition. The rulebook context is insufficient to answer this question definitively. To answer, the rulebook would need to explicitly state what happens to Conditions and Wounds when an Investigator becomes a Spirit.
Source: page 11.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 10, 11, 27, 7, 8)
Mode: inferred
For The Butcher's Stalk Action, if line of sight is lost due to a new obstacle (such as a Locked Door placed between rounds), does the Spine Chill token immediately return or only at the next Stalk attempt?
The Spine Chill token is only returned if The Butcher is unable to Stalk the same Investigator during the following round, not immediately when line of sight is lost.
Explanation
From the rulebook (page 24):
- "Spine Chill tokens only last until the end of the next round. For this reason, The Butcher must Stalk an Investigator for 2 consecutive rounds to increase his Stalk track."
- "After Stalking an Investigator, if The Butcher is unable to Stalk the same Investigator the following round, the Investigator returns the Spine Chill token to The Butcher (so The Butcher must start over)."
This means:
- If a new obstacle (like a Locked Door) is placed between rounds and The Butcher cannot Stalk the same Investigator on his next turn (because line of sight is blocked), then at that time (the next Stalk attempt), the Spine Chill token is returned.
- The token is not returned immediately when the obstacle is placed or when line of sight is lost, but rather when The Butcher attempts (and fails) to Stalk the same Investigator on his next turn.
Source: page 24.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 13, 22, 24, 25)
Mode: inferred
If a Cultist is Hidden and adjacent to an Investigator, can they perform the Bloodletting Action without being Revealed, or does Bloodletting ever cause a Cultist to be Revealed?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The provided rulebook context describes the requirements and effects of the Bloodletting Action (see page 26), including that a Cultist must be adjacent to an Investigator and that it increases the Blood track and gives a Wound. However, the context does not specify whether performing Bloodletting causes a Hidden Cultist to become Revealed, nor does it state that Bloodletting can only be performed while Revealed.
Additionally, the rules for becoming Revealed (see page 26) only mention that a figure is placed on the main board and their Revealed card is flipped face-up when they are Revealed, but do not specify which actions (if any) trigger this state change.
To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to explicitly state whether Bloodletting causes a Cultist to be Revealed or if it can be performed while Hidden. This information is not present in the provided context.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 22, 26, 27)
Mode: inferred
When an Event card specifies an effect that conflicts with a card or ability, does the Event card override all other effects due to the Golden Rule, even if it is detrimental to the Investigators?
The rulebook states the following about rule conflicts:
The Golden Rule
If 2 or more rules ever conflict, the rule on the card always takes precedence over the general rules in this rulebook.
(Page 7)
This means:
- If an Event card (which is a type of card) specifies an effect that conflicts with another card or ability, the specific rule on the card takes precedence over the general rules in the rulebook.
- The Golden Rule does not distinguish between beneficial or detrimental effects; it simply states that the card's rule overrides the rulebook.
However, the rulebook does not explicitly state that Event cards override other cards or abilities—only that "the rule on the card" takes precedence over the rulebook. If the conflict is between two cards (for example, an Event card and an Investigator's ability card), the rulebook does not specify which card takes precedence.
Summary
- If the conflict is between an Event card and a rule in the rulebook, the Event card takes precedence, regardless of whether it is detrimental to the Investigators.
- If the conflict is between an Event card and another card or ability, the rulebook does not specify which takes precedence.
Source: Page 7 (The Golden Rule)
Source: Core Rules (pp. 11, 14, 16, 2, 7)
Mode: inferred
If a player controls multiple Investigators, are they allowed to trade Items or Evidence between their own Investigators if they are adjacent, or is this restricted in any way?
A player who controls multiple Investigators may trade Items or Evidence between their own Investigators if those Investigators are adjacent, following the same rules as trading between Investigators controlled by different players.
This is supported by the following points:
- On page 6, it states: "When a player controls 2 or more Investigators, each Investigator a player controls is considered to have their own turn. Essentially, you play as if you are two separate players, each a separate instance of [you], playing as their own Investigator."
- On page 8, under "Interact and Items," it says: "Trade any Items or Evidence with adjacent Investigators."
There is no restriction mentioned that prevents trading between Investigators controlled by the same player. The rules treat each Investigator as a separate entity for all purposes, including trading.
Source: pages 6 and 8.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 10, 14, 16, 6, 8)
Mode: inferred
When an Investigator flips a Medical Item to heal a Wound, and the Wound card had an ongoing effect, is the ongoing effect removed immediately or at the end of the round?
When an Investigator uses a Medical Item to flip a Wound face-down, the ongoing effect from the Wound card is removed immediately—not at the end of the round.
This is supported by the following rule:
- "Medical Items are one of the few means by which a Wound can be flipped face-down. Before flipping a Wound face-down, undo any negative effects that resulted from the card’s text."
(page 11)
This means that as soon as the Wound is flipped face-down (by using a Medical Item), you immediately remove any ongoing negative effects from that Wound.
Source: page 11.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 10, 11, 26, 27, 7)
Mode: inferred
If an Adversary is on a space that becomes Bright due to a Flashlight and is Revealed, but then the space becomes Dim or Dark again later in the round, can the Adversary automatically become Hidden or must they use Disappear?
If an Adversary is Revealed because they are on a Bright space (such as from a Flashlight), and then that space later becomes Dim or Dark, the Adversary does not automatically become Hidden. They must use their Disappear Action or another effect that allows them to become Hidden.
This is supported by the following rules:
- From page 8:
"If the Adversary is on (or enters) a Bright space, immediately Reveal the Adversary by placing the Adversary figure on the main board. Adversaries typically have a Disappear Action that lets them become Hidden again." - Also from page 8:
"Tokens that are Revealed are never moved back to the mini-map, even if the space is no longer Bright." - From page 28:
"When the Adversary becomes Hidden: 1. Remove your figure from the main board and place it onto your mini-map (on the matching space it was just removed from). 2. Place a Shadow token on the space you became Hidden on."
There is no rule stating that the Adversary automatically becomes Hidden when the space is no longer Bright. The rulebook specifies that becoming Hidden requires a specific Action (such as Disappear), not just a change in lighting.
Summary:
The Adversary must use their Disappear Action or another effect to become Hidden again; they do not automatically become Hidden if the space becomes Dim or Dark.
Source: pages 8, 28.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 12, 19, 23, 28, 8)
Mode: inferred
Can the Adversary use the Disappear Action immediately after being Revealed by a Bright space during an Investigator's turn, or must they wait until their own turn?
The Adversary must wait until their own turn to use the Disappear Action.
This is supported by the following:
-
On page 23, under "Disappear," it states:
"If you are Revealed, you may move your figure from the main board to the same space on the mini-map, updating your Shadow token to where you Disappeared (even if the space is Bright). After Disappearing, you may not Ambush or use your Attack card the rest of the round."
-
The Disappear Action is listed as a "Core Action" available to the Adversary during their turn, and actions are only performed on the Adversary's turn:
"The Horror always has these Actions available: Move, Disappear, and Break Door. Each may be performed during the Adversary's turn once."
-
On page 28, under "Adversary Turn Actions," it clarifies:
"After all the Investigators have taken their turn, you may take yours."
There is no rule in the provided context that allows the Adversary to take the Disappear Action outside of their own turn. Therefore, if the Adversary is Revealed by entering or being on a Bright space during an Investigator's turn, they must wait until their next turn to use the Disappear Action.
Source: pages 23, 28.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 12, 22, 23, 28, 8)
Mode: inferred
If an Investigator gains a face-down Wound that would immediately reduce their Stamina below zero, does the Stamina loss occur before or after the Wound, and could this cause a simultaneous death?
Based on the rulebook context:
- When you gain a Wound, you draw a Wound card and place it in your player board’s leftmost empty Wound slot. The Wound may be face-up or face-down as specified (p.11).
- Stamina is spent to Sprint, and if your Stamina token moves onto a face-down Wound icon, you immediately gain a face-down Wound card (p.8).
- Investigators immediately die if they gain their 4th Wound, whether it is face-up or face-down (p.11).
Sequence of Effects
- The rules specify that if your Stamina token moves onto a face-down Wound icon, you immediately gain a face-down Wound (p.8).
- There is no rule stating that gaining a Wound causes you to lose Stamina; rather, losing Stamina can cause you to gain a Wound if you cross a face-down Wound icon on the Stamina track.
Timing and Simultaneity
- The Stamina loss occurs first (e.g., by Sprinting or another effect).
- If this Stamina loss causes your token to move onto a face-down Wound icon, you then immediately gain a face-down Wound.
- If this is your 4th Wound, you immediately die (p.11).
Could This Cause Simultaneous Death?
- The rules do not describe a situation where Stamina loss and Wound gain happen simultaneously; the Stamina loss triggers the Wound gain.
- Death occurs only when the 4th Wound is gained.
Summary
- Stamina loss occurs first. If this causes you to cross a face-down Wound icon, you then immediately gain a face-down Wound.
- If this is your 4th Wound, you die at that moment.
- There is no rule for simultaneous death from Stamina and Wounds; death is only checked upon gaining the 4th Wound.
Source: p.8, p.10, p.11
Source: Core Rules (pp. 10, 11, 24, 27, 8)
Mode: inferred
When an Investigator ends their movement on the same space as the Adversary while the Adversary is Hidden, does the Investigator receive any indication or effect?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The rulebook context provided does not specify any effect or indication for an Investigator who ends their movement on the same space as the Adversary while the Adversary is Hidden. Specifically:
- On page 8, it states:
"The Adversary should not notify the Investigators if an Investigator ends on or Moves through the Adversary’s space." - There is no mention of any automatic effect, notification, or consequence for the Investigator in this situation.
To answer definitively, the rulebook would need to specify if any effect or notification occurs when an Investigator ends movement on a Hidden Adversary's space. As it stands, the context only clarifies that the Adversary does not reveal their position in this case.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 22, 28, 7, 8)
Mode: inferred
How do overlapping light sources interact if a Zone is made Bright by both a Flashlight and a Bright token in the same round, especially if one is removed first?
Overlapping Light Sources: Flashlight and Bright Token
- Flashlights, Bright tokens, and Dim tokens always override printed light states on the board (p.11).
- If a Zone has a Bright token, all spaces within that Zone are Bright (p.8).
- A Flashlight makes spaces Bright as long as they are within its area of effect and line of sight (p.9).
- Bright spaces immediately Reveal Hidden tokens and the Adversary. Once Revealed, these components remain on the main board even if the space is no longer Bright (p.8, p.9).
If Both a Flashlight and a Bright Token Make a Zone Bright:
- The space is Bright as long as at least one source (Flashlight or Bright token) is present.
- If one source is removed (e.g., the Flashlight at the end of the round), but the Bright token remains, the space continues to be Bright due to the Bright token.
- If the Bright token is removed but the Flashlight remains, the space is still Bright as long as the Flashlight covers it with line of sight.
- Revealed tokens and Adversary figures stay on the main board even if the space later becomes non-Bright (p.8, p.9).
Summary
- Overlapping light sources are redundant: as long as at least one source is present, the space is Bright.
- Order of removal does not matter for already Revealed components: once Revealed, tokens and the Adversary do not return to Hidden status if the space becomes non-Bright.
Source: pages 8, 9, and 11.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 11, 12, 19, 8, 9)
Mode: inferred
If multiple Investigators attempt to interact with the same token (such as Evidence or a Point of Interest) in the same round, who gets the token, and are there any timing conflicts to resolve?
Answer
Based on the rulebook context:
- Each Investigator takes their turn in full, one at a time, within a round (page 7).
- During their turn, an Investigator may perform any number of Actions, including Interact to pick up a token such as Evidence or a Point of Interest (page 8).
- There is no simultaneous action; Investigators act sequentially, not at the same time.
Token Acquisition
- If multiple Investigators wish to interact with the same token in a round, the first Investigator to take their turn and perform the Interact Action on that token will acquire it.
- Once a token (such as Evidence or a Point of Interest) is picked up by an Investigator, it is no longer available for others to interact with during that round.
Timing Conflicts
- There are no timing conflicts to resolve because turn order is sequential and determined by the Investigators themselves each round (page 7).
- The Investigators may discuss and decide among themselves who will act first, but once a token is taken, it cannot be taken again.
Supporting References
- "The Investigator players may take their turns in any order within each round. Each Investigator takes their turn in full..." (page 7)
- "Any number of times, you may do any/all of the following, in any order, based on your location, even while Moving! On your current space: Pick up a Point of Interest or Item token. ... Pick up an Evidence token..." (page 8)
Summary
The first Investigator to interact with a token during their turn acquires it. There are no timing conflicts because turns are taken one at a time, and tokens are removed from the board as soon as they are picked up.
Source: pages 7–8
Source: Core Rules (pp. 14, 16, 6, 7, 8)
Mode: inferred
When an Adversary is Revealed by entering a Bright space during their own turn, can they use any remaining Actions, or is their turn immediately ended or restricted in any way?
If an Adversary is Revealed by entering a Bright space during their own turn, they cannot Attack for the remainder of their turn, but their turn does not immediately end and they may still use other Actions.
This is supported by the following:
-
On page 12, it states:
"If the Adversary is Revealed during their turn, they cannot Attack for the remainder of their turn."
-
There is no rule in the provided context that states the Adversary's turn immediately ends or that they are prevented from using other Actions (such as Disappear, Move, or Break Door) after being Revealed.
-
On page 23, it clarifies:
"You cannot be Revealed on your turn unless you end your turn on a Bright space."
However, page 12 provides the more specific rule for being Revealed during movement, and the only restriction mentioned is the inability to Attack.
Summary
- If Revealed by entering a Bright space during their own turn, the Adversary:
- Cannot Attack for the rest of that turn (page 12).
- May still use other Actions (such as Disappear or Break Door).
- Their turn does not immediately end.
Source: page 12, page 23
Source: Core Rules (pp. 12, 2, 23, 28, 8)
Mode: inferred
If an Investigator is forced to move after placing a Flashlight, and their movement causes other spaces to become Bright, do those spaces immediately Reveal Hidden tokens and the Adversary as well?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The rulebook states on page 9 that when an Investigator places a Flashlight, "Placing the Small Flashlight makes spaces Bright and therefore Reveals any Hidden tokens on the mini-map. It also Reveals the Adversary, forcing them to place their figure on the main board." It also specifies that "If an Investigator is forced to move after placing a Flashlight, the Flashlight is removed from the board."
However, the rulebook does not describe any process by which an Investigator's forced movement after placing a Flashlight would cause other spaces to become Bright, nor does it explain if such movement would trigger additional Reveals. The only described effect is that the Flashlight is removed if the Investigator is forced to move, with no mention of new Bright spaces being created as a result of that movement.
To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to specify whether forced movement after placing a Flashlight can create new Bright spaces and if those spaces would immediately Reveal Hidden tokens or the Adversary.
Source: page 9.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 12, 19, 28, 8, 9)