Rulora logo

Rulora

👥 2-5 players

If an Investigator gains a face-down Wound that would immediately reduce their Stamina below zero, does the Stamina loss occur before or after the Wound, and could this cause a simultaneous death?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

Based on the rulebook context:

  • When you gain a Wound, you draw a Wound card and place it in your player board’s leftmost empty Wound slot. The Wound may be face-up or face-down as specified (p.11).
  • Stamina is spent to Sprint, and if your Stamina token moves onto a face-down Wound icon, you immediately gain a face-down Wound card (p.8).
  • Investigators immediately die if they gain their 4th Wound, whether it is face-up or face-down (p.11).

Sequence of Effects

  • The rules specify that if your Stamina token moves onto a face-down Wound icon, you immediately gain a face-down Wound (p.8).
  • There is no rule stating that gaining a Wound causes you to lose Stamina; rather, losing Stamina can cause you to gain a Wound if you cross a face-down Wound icon on the Stamina track.

Timing and Simultaneity

  • The Stamina loss occurs first (e.g., by Sprinting or another effect).
  • If this Stamina loss causes your token to move onto a face-down Wound icon, you then immediately gain a face-down Wound.
  • If this is your 4th Wound, you immediately die (p.11).

Could This Cause Simultaneous Death?

  • The rules do not describe a situation where Stamina loss and Wound gain happen simultaneously; the Stamina loss triggers the Wound gain.
  • Death occurs only when the 4th Wound is gained.

Summary

  • Stamina loss occurs first. If this causes you to cross a face-down Wound icon, you then immediately gain a face-down Wound.
  • If this is your 4th Wound, you die at that moment.
  • There is no rule for simultaneous death from Stamina and Wounds; death is only checked upon gaining the 4th Wound.

Source: p.8, p.10, p.11

Source: Core Rules (pp. 10, 11, 24, 27, 8)

Question ID: #576

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.