Uprising: Curse of the Last Emperor
✅ 20 Questions Answered
📘 Available Rulebooks:
- Core Rulebook V14
Answered Questions
Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.
Mode: inferred
When a Sea Tower is used for movement or Command, are Walls and Towers on the Sea Tower hex considered for defense or combat on other hexes, or only if combat occurs on the Sea Tower itself?
Walls and Towers on a Sea Tower hex are only considered for defense or combat if the combat occurs on the Sea Tower hex itself.
- From page 42: "Towers give you 1 white die in Archery and Clash rounds if you have any of your Units on that hex. Walls give you 1 blue die in Clash rounds if you have any of your Units on that hex."
- This means the defensive dice from Walls and Towers are only granted if your Units are present on the same hex as the Wall or Tower during combat.
- There is no rule in the provided context that allows Walls or Towers on a Sea Tower to affect combat in other hexes, even if movement or Command is initiated from the Sea Tower.
Source: page 42.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 14, 20, 21, 42, 7)
Mode: inferred
If a player’s units are in the Chaos or Empire Graveyard at the end of the game, are they considered eliminated for scoring purposes, or do only Havens and VP matter?
Based on the rulebook context:
- At the end of the game, scoring for player factions is based on the number of Havens they have on the map, any hex VP bonuses for Havens, and any VP gained by spending resources (page 30).
- The Empire and Chaos score VP for the number of player units in their respective Graveyards (page 30):
- The Empire: "2 VP for each faction in the Imperial Graveyard (so if there was 1 Krowh Unit and 2 Druwhn Units, The Empire would score 4 VP)"
- Chaos: "2 VP for each Faction in the Chaos Graveyard"
There is no mention in the provided context that a player is "eliminated" or loses points for having units in the Chaos or Empire Graveyard. The only effect is that The Empire and Chaos score VP for each faction represented in their respective Graveyards.
Player scoring is determined by:
- 2 VP for each Haven on the map (only their own)
- 1 VP for each hex bonus where they have a Haven
- VP for spending resources (5 resources = 1 VP, any number of times, usually in the last Chapter)
Summary
- Only Havens, hex VP, and resource conversion matter for player scoring.
- Player units in the Chaos or Empire Graveyard do not affect the player's own VP, but do give VP to The Empire or Chaos.
- There is no rule in the context that says a player is "eliminated" for having units in a Graveyard.
Source: page 30, page 31
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 30, 31, 34, 36, 57)
Mode: inferred
If a player has reached their limit of 10 Feats and Items and draws new ones during the Build Phase, when must they discard down and can they choose which to keep after seeing the new cards?
Answer
When a player would exceed the 10-card limit for Feats and Items by gaining a new one, they may immediately discard any Feat or Item, including the one they just gained. This means:
- When you draw 2 Feats during the Build Phase and pick 1 to keep, if adding the chosen Feat would put you over the 10-card limit, you may choose to discard any Feat or Item you currently have, or the new one you just gained, to stay at or below the limit.
- You are allowed to see the new Feat before deciding which card to discard, so you can choose which to keep after seeing the new card.
This is supported by the following rule:
"If you would exceed the 10-card limit by gaining a new one, you may always discard any Feat or Item, even the one you just gained."
(page 13)
Summary
You only need to discard down to the 10-card limit after you have drawn and chosen the new Feat or Item, and you may choose which card(s) to discard after seeing the new one.
Source: page 13
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 15, 17, 35, 4)
Mode: inferred
During combat, if both sides would be simultaneously destroyed in the same combat round, which side is considered the winner for the purposes of removing Havens and awarding VP?
If both sides are simultaneously destroyed in the same combat round, the rulebook does not specify a tiebreaker or priority for which side is considered the winner for the purposes of removing Havens or awarding VP.
Analysis
- The Combat Sequence (page 36) states that Clash rounds are repeated "until one side is destroyed." After all destroyed Units have been placed in the Graveyards, "if there are only enemy Units on the hex, they remove any Haven and Defenses... immediately."
- It also states: "A player’s Hero is never destroyed, but can not prevent the removal of Havens after all Units were lost in combat."
- For VP, "Players score VP for any destroyed Skeletons or Garisons immediately," and "Check the bottom of the Hordes and Legion cards – they usually give you VP if you destroy them, and sometimes have additional effects. Once destroyed, Legions and Hordes are removed from the game."
- There is no explicit rule for what happens if both sides are destroyed at the same time.
Conclusion
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context does not specify what happens if both sides are destroyed simultaneously in a combat round. It is unclear which side, if any, is considered the winner for the purposes of removing Havens or awarding VP. The rulebook would need to clarify tiebreaker procedures or simultaneous destruction outcomes to answer this question definitively.
Source: page 36 (Combat Sequence)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 21, 30, 31, 32, 36)
Mode: inferred
If a hex has ongoing effects (like from a Sea Tower) and then gains a Curse, do those ongoing effects persist regardless of the Curse?
Yes, ongoing effects (such as those from a Sea Tower) persist even if the hex gains a Curse.
This is supported by the following rule:
- On page 14, it states:
"Ongoing effects (such as on a Sea Tower) are active as soon as the hex is øipped, even if there is a Curse."
Additionally, on page 49, it clarifies:
- "A hex with a Curse is its own type of explored terain, and loses al the properties of the original hex, except impasable terain, or ongoing effects (like on a Sea Tower)."
Summary
Ongoing effects on a hex remain active even if that hex gains a Curse.
Source: page 14, page 49
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 14, 21, 23, 49, 55)
Mode: inferred
When a Legion is placed and all players already have Targets, and its Target is placed on The Capital, does it ever retarget to a player’s Haven if one becomes available later?
No, if a Legion's Target is placed on The Capital because all players already have Targets, the Target stays on The Capital for the rest of the game and does not retarget to a player's Haven later, even if one becomes available.
This is supported by the following rule:
- "If every player already has a Target and a new Legion is placed, place its Target on The Capital. Targets on The Capital stay there for the rest of the game - the Legion wil activate normaly but wil not move out from the Capital."
(page 47)
There is no rule indicating that a Target on The Capital can be moved to a player’s Haven later. The retargeting rules only apply if the Target was originally on a Haven and that Haven is removed:
- "If a Haven with a Target is removed by any effect, and the Legion is stil in play, the Legion wil stil try to root out the uprising of that faction. If there are more Havens of that faction on the map, place the Target on one that has the fewest Units. If the faction has no other Haven, then place the Target on The Capital."
(page 47)
Summary:
Once a Legion’s Target is placed on The Capital due to all players already having Targets, it remains there permanently and does not retarget to a player’s Haven later.
Source: page 47
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 21, 47, 52, 54, 60)
Mode: inferred
If a Legion or Horde is destroyed by an effect outside of combat (such as a card or quest), does the player who triggered the effect receive the VP and bonuses listed on the card?
Yes, if a Legion or Horde is destroyed by an effect outside of combat (such as a card or quest), the player who triggered the effect receives the VP and any bonuses listed on the bottom of the card.
This is supported by the following rule:
- On page 47, under Legions:
"If a Legion is destroyed, resolve the effect at the bottom of the card and remove it from the game. If you generate an effect that destroys a Legion, generate the bottom effect yourself."
This means that whoever causes the destruction of the Legion (or Horde, by analogy) is the one who receives the VP and any other effects shown at the bottom of the card, regardless of whether the destruction happened in combat or by another effect.
Source: page 47.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 30, 36, 47, 52, 60)
Mode: inferred
When a Haven is removed during the Nemesis Phase by an enemy but the player still has units on the hex, do those units remain, and if so, can they be commanded or built upon in subsequent turns?
Answer
If a Haven is removed from a hex during the Nemesis Phase (for example, by an enemy effect or the placement of a Curse), the following applies:
-
Player Units remain: If there are player Units on the hex when the Haven is removed, those Units remain on the hex. This is explicitly stated in the context of Curses:
"If there are player Units here, they remain and may be Commanded off of it;"
(Page 49) -
Commanding Units: You may still use the Command action to move (Command) your Units off of the hex in subsequent turns, even if the Haven is gone or the hex is Cursed.
(Page 49: "may be Commanded off of it") -
Building on the Hex:
- If the hex is Cursed, you cannot use the Haven action there ("You can not use the Haven Action in this hex" — Page 49), and you cannot build a Wall or Tower without a Haven (Page 23).
- If the hex is not Cursed and meets the requirements (explored, no enemy Units, no existing Haven, not The Capital or Ice Wastes), you may use the Haven action to build a new Haven there in a future turn (Page 23).
Summary
- Units remain on the hex after a Haven is removed.
- Units can be Commanded off the hex in future turns.
- You cannot build (Haven, Wall, or Tower) on a Cursed hex, but if the Curse is removed and requirements are met, you may build again.
Sources:
Page 49 (Curses and removing Havens), Page 23 (Haven action requirements)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 21, 23, 27, 49)
Mode: inferred
If a Quest or Item effect allows a player to flip or explore a hex remotely (not with a Hero present), who receives any immediate explore benefits or makes choices for that hex?
If an effect such as an Event or Item allows you to flip a hex, the player who flipped it gains any benefits.
- "If an effect such as an Event or Item allows you to øip a hex, the player who øipped it gains any beneöts."
(page 23)
This means that even if the hex is explored remotely (not with a Hero present), the player who performed the flip (via the Quest or Item effect) receives any immediate explore benefits and makes any required decisions for that hex.
Source: page 23
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 14, 22, 23, 49)
Mode: inferred
When a Legion or Horde’s Threat would be increased above 7 due to an effect, and the relevant faction gains VP instead, does this also trigger any other effects associated with increasing Threat?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The rulebook on page 45 states:
"If an effect would cause Threat to go above the maximum (usually 7), score 1 VP for that Faction instead for each."
However, it does not specify whether this VP gain replaces only the Threat increase or also any other effects that would be triggered by increasing Threat. There is no mention of additional effects being triggered or not triggered in this situation.
To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to clarify whether the VP gain is in addition to, or instead of, any other effects that might be associated with increasing Threat.
Source: page 45.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 30, 36, 45, 47, 52)
Mode: inferred
If a player’s only available AP is used to Trade for Salt, are they still required to take another action that turn, or can they end their turn after Trading?
Based on the rulebook context, specifically page 18, during the Actions Phase:
- "When it is your turn, you may take the Move and/or Trade Action as often as you want, and then you may take 1 other Action. You MUST take at least one of these. You can not skip spending an AP! Then the next player takes their turn, until everyone is out of AP."
The Trade Action (page 19) can be taken "ALWAYS," and does not end your turn. However, the rules on page 18 clarify that on your turn, you may take Move and/or Trade as often as you want, and then you may take 1 other Action. You must spend at least one AP on your turn.
If your only available AP is used to Trade for Salt, and you have no more AP left, you cannot take another action. The rule that you "MUST take at least one of these" refers to not skipping your turn without spending AP, not to being required to take a non-Trade action if you have no AP left.
Summary
- If a player’s only available AP is used to Trade for Salt, and they have no AP remaining, their turn ends after the Trade.
- The rules require you to spend at least one AP on your turn, but do not require you to take a non-Trade action if you have no AP left after Trading.
Source: page 18 (Actions Phase), page 19 (Trade Action)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 17, 18, 19, 20, 24)
Mode: inferred
If a player has more than one eligible hex for placing a Garrison, Skeleton, Legion, or Horde as a result of an effect, who makes the final placement decision?
Answer
If there is more than one eligible hex for placing a Garrison, Skeleton, Legion, or Horde as a result of an effect, the acting player makes the final placement decision.
This is supported by the following rule:
- "Sometimes, the Event or the hex will tell you exactly where to place them. But in some cases, they will tell you to simply 'place 1 Horde' for example, allowing the acting player to choose."
- "If you cannot follow the instructions of a place effect, or there are no instructions, place the Unit on either an empty hex or a hex with Units of the same faction."
(page 50)
Source
Page 50: Placing Nemesis Units
This section explains that when the placement is not strictly dictated by the effect, the acting player chooses among the eligible options.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 21, 34, 50, 51, 53)
Mode: inferred
Can units that are Commanded onto a hex containing both a Garrison and a Legion (or Skeleton and Horde) retreat or move away if they survive the first combat but not the second, or must both combats be resolved sequentially?
Units that are Commanded onto a hex containing both a Garrison and a Legion (or Skeleton and Horde) must resolve both combats sequentially; they cannot retreat or move away between combats.
This is supported by the following points:
-
From page 21:
"If your Units enter a hex with any enemy Units, combat begins. If there is an Imperial Garrison or Chaos Skeletons, fight those before fighting any Legion or Horde; if there is more than one Horde, or more than one Legion, fight them in their initiative order from lowest to highest.
Each combat counts as a distinct and separate combat, so you can gain Before Combat and After Combat effects multiple times." -
There is no mention in the provided context of a retreat or movement option between sequential combats when multiple enemy types are present in a hex. The rules specify that you must fight the Garrison/Skeletons first, then the Legion/Horde, in order.
-
From page 36:
"Repeat Clash until one side is destroyed. ... After all destroyed Units have been placed in the Graveyards, if there are only enemy Units on the hex, they remove any Haven and Defenses (Walls & Towers) there immediately."
Summary
Units must resolve both combats in sequence when entering a hex with multiple enemy types (Garrison and Legion, or Skeleton and Horde). There is no rule allowing retreat or movement between these combats; both must be resolved before any further movement or actions.
Source: pages 21, 36.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 21, 32, 34, 36, 57)
Mode: inferred
If a hex is both unexplored and cursed, can it ever be explored or have a Haven built there again if the Curse is later removed?
If a hex is both unexplored and cursed, the following applies:
- According to the CURSES section (page 49), "if the hex was unexplored, you can not use the Explore Action here."
- However, under REMOVING CURSES (page 49), it states: "If an effect (through an Item or Quest for example) removes a Curse, the hex regains its properties and is available for Haven and Explore Actions."
Summary
- While the hex is cursed and unexplored, you cannot explore it or build a Haven.
- If the Curse is removed, the hex "regains its properties and is available for Haven and Explore Actions." This means you can then use the Explore action to flip the hex, and once explored, you may use the Haven action there (assuming all other requirements are met).
Source: page 49 (CURSES and REMOVING CURSES)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 14, 22, 23, 49)
Mode: inferred
If a player’s last Haven is removed from the board, what happens to that player’s units and can they re-enter the game by building a new Haven?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The provided rulebook context does not specify what happens to a player's units if their last Haven is removed from the board, nor does it explain whether or how a player can re-enter the game by building a new Haven after losing all Havens. The rules describe how to build Havens (page 23), how Havens interact with units and defenses (pages 17, 23), and how production works with Havens (page 29), but do not address the situation of a player with no Havens remaining.
To answer this question, the rulebook would need to include a section on player elimination, recovery, or special rules for players without Havens.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 17, 21, 23, 29)
Mode: inferred
When a combat occurs involving more than two factions (for example, Chaos, Empire, and a player), what is the correct order for resolving combats and handling destroyed units?
Answer
When a combat occurs involving more than two factions (for example, Chaos, Empire, and a player), the rulebook provides the following guidance:
-
Player Units do not enter combat with each other, nor may they share the same hex.
(Page 32) -
Whenever player Units are in the same hex with Imperial or Chaos Units (or Chaos and Imperial Units are together!), combat occurs.
(Page 32) -
If your Units enter a hex with any enemy Units, combat begins. If there is an Imperial Garrison or Chaos Skeletons, fight those before fighting any Legion or Horde; if there is more than one Horde, or more than one Legion, fight them in their initiative order from lowest to highest. Each combat counts as a distinct and separate combat, so you can gain Before Combat and After Combat effects multiple times.
(Page 21) -
When Units of The Empire and Chaos are in the same hex, they begin a combat with each other.
(Page 44, Page 57)
Combat Order
- If a hex contains player Units, Imperial Units, and Chaos Units:
- Player Units do not fight each other.
- Player Units fight Imperial and/or Chaos Units, but not both at once.
- If both Imperial and Chaos Units are present, they fight each other.
- If there are multiple enemy types (e.g., Garrison, Legion, Skeletons, Horde), resolve combats in this order:
- Fight Garrison or Skeletons first.
- Then fight Legions or Hordes, in initiative order (lowest to highest).
Handling Destroyed Units
- Player Units destroyed go to the Graveyard of The Empire or Chaos, depending on who destroyed them.
- Destroyed Skeletons or Garrisons are placed in the respective Graveyard (Chaos or Empire).
- Legions and Hordes are removed from the game when destroyed, not placed in Graveyards.
- If a Legion destroys a Horde, or vice versa, the winning faction gains the VP.
- After all destroyed Units have been placed in Graveyards, if only enemy Units remain on the hex, they remove any Haven and Defenses there immediately. (Page 36, Page 57)
Summary
- Resolve combats sequentially, not all at once, following the order: Garrison/Skeletons → Legions/Hordes (initiative order).
- Each combat is distinct, and Before/After Combat effects apply to each.
- Destroyed Units are placed in the appropriate Graveyard or removed from the game, as specified.
- Empire and Chaos fight each other if they share a hex, separate from player combats.
Sources:
Page 21, Page 32, Page 36, Page 44, Page 57
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 21, 32, 36, 44, 57)
Mode: inferred
If a Legion or Horde is activated but cannot move closer to its target or The Capital due to impassable terrain or blocked hexes, what happens?
If a Legion or Horde is activated but cannot move closer to its target (for Legions) or The Capital (for Hordes) due to impassable terrain or blocked hexes, the following applies:
- The movement step instructs you to move the Legion or Horde 1 hex closer to its target, but specifically states: "Legions can not cros impasable terain" (page 54) and "Hordes cannot cros impasable terain" (page 55).
- If a Legion or Horde is on the same hex as its target (for Legions) or cannot move any closer (for either), it does not move. The rules for Legions state: "If a Legion is on the same hex as its Target, it does not move." (page 54).
- There is no rule that forces a Legion or Horde to move if all possible paths are blocked by impassable terrain or if there is no legal hex to move into.
Summary
If a Legion or Horde cannot move closer to its target or The Capital due to impassable terrain or blocked hexes, it simply does not move during its activation. It still performs any other steps of its activation that are possible (such as placing a Garrison or Curse).
Source: page 54 (Legion activation), page 55 (Horde activation).
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 21, 27, 47, 54, 55)
Mode: inferred
If a Haven is removed from a hex that also contains a Wall and Tower, but the cause is a Curse placement rather than combat, are Walls and Towers also removed and do they provide any defense benefits?
When a Curse is placed on a hex, the following occurs:
- "When a Curse is placed on a hex, destroy any Garisons (place them in the Chaos Graveyard), and remove any Haven, Tower and Wal there."
(Page 49)
This means:
- Walls and Towers are removed along with the Haven when a Curse is placed, regardless of whether the removal is due to combat or another effect.
- Since they are immediately removed, Walls and Towers do not provide any defense benefits during the Curse placement; their effects are not active once the Curse is present.
This is supported by the explicit rule that all three (Haven, Wall, Tower) are removed when a Curse is placed, and by the fact that a hex with a Curse "loses all the properties of the original hex, except impassable terrain, or ongoing effects (like on a Sea Tower)" (Page 49).
Source:
Page 49, Curses section.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 14, 23, 42, 49, 55)
Mode: inferred
When activating a Legion or Horde with multiple possible movement options of equal priority, who decides the path, and is there a default tiebreaker?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context describes the movement priorities for Legions (page 54) and Hordes (page 55), specifying which types of hexes to prefer (e.g., Havens with the fewest Units, hexes with the fewest enemy Units and/or Threat, etc.). However, it does not specify who decides the path or if there is a default tiebreaker when multiple options are of equal priority.
To answer this question, the rulebook would need to explicitly state a procedure or authority for resolving such ties, such as a default player, the active player, or a random method. This information is not present in the provided context.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 21, 27, 54, 55, 60)
Mode: inferred
If multiple Garrisons or Skeletons must be placed but there are not enough available in the reserve, what is the precise sequence for converting existing units or awarding VP to the relevant faction?
Garrisons
- When you must place or reinforce a Garrison but cannot (because you have run out of models, or would exceed 3 on a hex), the Empire gains 1 VP for each Garrison you cannot place or reinforce.
- If you are instructed to place a Garrison and there are no empty hexes, you may place it on a hex with a Legion.
- If all level 1 Garrisons are placed, use a level 2 or 3 Garrison on a hex with other Garrisons (up to 3 per hex).
- If you still cannot place or reinforce (e.g., all models are used and all hexes are full), award 1 VP to the Empire for each unplaceable Garrison.
Source: page 50
Skeletons
- If you must place a Skeleton and there are none in the reserve:
- Choose a hex with 1 or 2 Skeletons on it, remove them and place 1 new Horde on that hex.
- If you must place a Skeleton and all Hordes have already been placed (so you cannot convert Skeletons to a Horde):
- Chaos gains 1 VP instead.
- If you must place 2 Skeletons with other Skeletons, you may split them into different hexes.
- If there are no Skeletons on the map, place it on an empty hex.
Source: page 51
Summary
- Garrisons: If you cannot place or reinforce, the Empire gains 1 VP for each unplaceable Garrison.
- Skeletons: If you cannot place a Skeleton due to no models, convert 1 or 2 existing Skeletons into a Horde. If you cannot do this (no Hordes available), Chaos gains 1 VP for each unplaceable Skeleton.
This sequence is directly supported by the rules on pages 50 and 51.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 30, 34, 50, 51, 57)