The Few and Cursed
✅ 20 Questions Answered
📘 Available Rulebooks:
- Core Rulebook 1.0
Answered Questions
Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.
Mode: inferred
When a player increases their curse while already in the cursed state, do they suffer one damage for every point the curse increases, or only once per increase regardless of amount?
When a player increases their curse while already in the cursed state, they suffer one damage each time their curse increases, not for each point of increase.
This is supported by the following rule:
"Whenever you increase your Curse while Cursed, you suffer one damage!"
(page 8)
The rule uses the phrase "whenever you increase your Curse," which refers to the event of increasing, not the amount. It does not specify that you take damage per point of increase, but rather per instance of increase. Therefore, if an effect increases your curse by multiple points in a single action, you suffer only one damage for that increase.
Source: page 8
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 29, 30, 4, 7, 8)
Mode: inferred
If a player is in a space with both a monster and another bounty (such as a Most Wanted), can they defeat both in the same action phase?
Based on the rulebook context:
- On page 21, it states:
"You may only defeat one Most Wanted Bounty per Action Phase." - For monsters, it says:
"In order to defeat a monster, you must be on the same space as the Monster’s figure."
There is no explicit rule stating you cannot defeat a monster and a Most Wanted Bounty in the same Action Phase. The restriction is only on defeating more than one Most Wanted Bounty per Action Phase, not on defeating a monster and a Most Wanted Bounty.
Summary
A player may defeat both a monster and a Most Wanted Bounty in the same Action Phase, as long as they meet the requirements for each (being on the correct space and having enough Attack), but may only defeat one Most Wanted Bounty per Action Phase.
Source: page 21.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 21, 22, 26)
Mode: inferred
Are there any restrictions on how many store cards or upgrades a player can have equipped at once, beyond the accessory and hand limits?
There are no additional restrictions on how many Store cards or upgrades a player can have equipped at once, beyond the accessory and hand limits.
- From page 18: "Each player has two accessory slots and two hands." Store cards have a Storage Location (Accessory, One-Handed, or Two-Handed), and you are limited by these slots.
- There is no mention of any further restrictions on the number of Store cards or upgrades you can have equipped, other than these slot limits.
Summary:
Players are limited only by the number of accessory slots (2) and hands (2) for equipping Store cards. No other restrictions are specified in the provided rulebook context.
Source: page 18
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 18, 28, 29, 4)
Mode: inferred
If a player is in San Andreas during the encounter phase, can they visit both the job board and the store in the same round, or must they choose one?
A player in San Andreas during the Encounter phase must choose whether to visit the Job Board or the Store; they cannot visit both in the same round.
This is supported by the following:
-
On page 15:
"If a player is in San Andreas during the Encounter phase, they may decide whether they would like to visit the Job Board or the Store." -
On page 20:
"If you have moved into San Andreas, you can Visit the Job Board or go Shopping at the Store (see Encounter Phase pg 10). Remember that you can only perform one action per round!"
These references indicate that during the Encounter phase in San Andreas, a player must choose one of the two options.
Source: pages 15, 20
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 15, 20, 32, 6)
Mode: inferred
If a player is forced to lose Grit for every card they cannot draw when their deck is empty and their play area is exhausted, can this cause their Grit to go below zero, and is there any additional penalty?
If a player must lose Grit for each card they cannot draw when their deck is empty and their play area is exhausted, the rulebook states:
- "If your entire deck is in your play area, lose one [Grit] for each card that you cannot draw."
(page 13)
There is no rule in the provided context that prevents a player's Grit from going below zero as a result of this penalty, nor is there any mention of an additional penalty for having negative Grit in the standard (non-cooperative) game.
Summary
- Yes, this penalty can cause a player's Grit to go below zero.
- There is no additional penalty specified in the provided rulebook context for having negative Grit in the standard game.
Source: page 13
If you are playing the cooperative mode, the team loses if Grit drops below zero (page 27), but for individual players in the standard game, the only effect is a lower (possibly negative) Grit score.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 17, 24, 27, 3)
Mode: inferred
When acquiring an artifact due to an encounter (such as Discover Treasure), if the artifact color matches one already collected, does this restrict the player from performing the Recover Artifact action at that location later?
No, acquiring an artifact due to an encounter (such as Discover Treasure
) does not restrict the player from performing the Recover Artifact
action at that location later, even if the artifact color matches one already collected.
Explanation
- On page 31, it states:
"You can still only take the 'Recover Artifact' action on Artifacts that do not match any of the Artifact Token colors in your collection. If you happen to draw a random Artifact of a color you’ve already recovered, that does not violate the rules."
This means:
- The restriction on the
Recover Artifact
action applies only to that specific action, not to artifacts gained through encounters. - If you gain an artifact of a color you already have via an encounter, it does not prevent you from later using the
Recover Artifact
action at that location, as long as the artifact token at that location is of a color you do not already have from theRecover Artifact
action.
Source: page 31.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 12, 14, 20, 26, 31)
Mode: inferred
If a player triggers a shuffle during the action phase (not by camping), do they return to San Andreas immediately, or do they finish their current action first?
If a player triggers a shuffle during the action phase (not by camping), they must return to San Andreas immediately.
This is supported by the following rules:
-
On page 13:
"At any time, if your personal deck is empty and you need to draw a card or reveal a card from the top of your deck, reshuffle your discard pile to replenish your deck. When this occurs, you must return your character to San Andreas." -
On page 23:
"If you shuffled your deck at any point during this past round other than by taking the camp action, return your figure to San Andreas. This includes a reshuffle as a result of the Redraw step."
The rule on page 13 uses the phrase "at any time," indicating that the return to San Andreas is immediate upon shuffling, regardless of the phase or action being performed, unless the shuffle was caused by the camp action (which is an exception).
Summary
A player who triggers a shuffle during the action phase (not by camping) must immediately return to San Andreas, interrupting their current action.
Sources:
Page 13, Page 23
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 20, 22, 23, 32)
Mode: inferred
When playing a card with both a resource and an additional effect, are both effects mandatory even if the additional effect is detrimental, or can the player choose to ignore it?
When playing a card that gives resources and has an "additional effect" on the bottom, you must always do everything on a card when it is played or you cannot play it. This means both the resource and the additional effect are mandatory, even if the additional effect is detrimental. The only exception is for cards with the trash symbol; these can be played for their resources or trashed for the listed additional effect, but not both.
This is supported by the following rule:
- "When playing a card which gives resources and has an 'additional effect' on the bottom, do you always get both effects or must you choose one or the other?
You must always do everything on a card when it is played or you cannot play it. The only exception are cards with the [trash] symbol. These cards are played for their resources and may be trashed for the listed additional effect."
(Page 28)
Summary:
Both effects are mandatory unless the card has the trash symbol, in which case you choose one or the other.
Source: page 28.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 14, 18, 28, 29)
Mode: inferred
If a player is forced to trash a card due to defeating Demons or another effect but has no cards in hand, discard, or play area, what should they do?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context specifies on page 28 that "Whenever you defeat the Demons, you must trash a card. If you cannot trash a card from your hand or discard pile, you..." but the sentence is cut off and does not provide the full rule. There is no further information in the provided context about what to do if you have no cards in hand, discard, or play area when required to trash a card.
To answer this question definitively, the complete rule or additional context from the rulebook would be needed.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 23, 28, 29)
Mode: inferred
Can a player defeat a generic Wanted Bounty on both sides (by flipping it and defeating it again) in the same action phase even if they gain additional attack after the first defeat, or must all attack be spent at once?
Yes, a player can defeat the same generic Wanted Bounty on both sides in the same action phase, even if they gain additional Attack after the first defeat, as long as they have enough Attack for each defeat.
This is supported by the following points from the rulebook:
- "You are allowed to defeat each side of a Wanted Bounty in one turn—example: you can spend 5 while to defeat Talbot’s Gang twice."
- "You must have enough Attack (generated by cards you’ve played or by converting into ) to defeat the Bounty. The amount of Attack a card generates is found in the upper left corner of cards that you play from your hand."
- "Whenever one of these Bounties are defeated, immediately collect your rewards and flip the card over. Wanted Bounties are always available to defeat and are never discarded."
There is no rule stating that all Attack must be spent at once or that you cannot generate more Attack between defeats. As long as you have enough Attack for each defeat during your action phase, you may defeat both sides of a Wanted Bounty.
Source: page 21.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 10, 14, 21, 22, 8)
Mode: inferred
If a player defeats a Most Wanted bounty and flips the next card, and it is a monster, does the monster immediately enter play even if the round is not yet over?
Yes, the monster immediately enters play when revealed, even if the round is not yet over.
This is supported by the following from page 21:
- "After defeating a Most Wanted Bounty, take the Bounty card and place it in your score area. Immediately flip over and reveal the next bounty in that deck."
- "Setting up a Monster Figure: When you flip over a Monster Card, grab and place its figure on the Last Seen Location. The figure will move around the map at the end of each round."
This means:
- As soon as a Monster card is revealed (by flipping the next card after defeating a Most Wanted Bounty), you immediately place its figure on the board at the Last Seen Location.
- The monster does not wait until the end of the round to enter play; it is placed as soon as it is revealed.
Source: page 21.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 21, 23, 24)
Mode: inferred
When using a store card that improves weapon proficiency and requires bullets to activate, can the ability be used multiple times in a turn if the player has enough bullets, or is it limited in any way?
Based on the rulebook context:
- On page 18, it states: "Some cards improve your weapon proficiency and can be used as long as you have Bullets."
- It also says: "Store cards that give you resources can be exhausted once per round to gain the effect."
Analysis
- Store cards that give you resources are limited to being exhausted once per round for their effect.
- Store cards that improve weapon proficiency can be used "as long as you have Bullets," with no mention of an exhaustion or once-per-round limit.
Summary
If the store card improves weapon proficiency and requires bullets to activate, it can be used multiple times in a turn, as long as the player has enough bullets. There is no stated limit for these cards, unlike resource-generating store cards, which can only be exhausted once per round.
Source: page 18.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 18, 28, 7, 8)
Mode: inferred
Can a player use a Cursed card to copy the trash effect of another card that is being trashed in the same phase, or must the card still be in play?
A player can use a Cursed
card to copy the trash effect of another card that is being trashed in the same phase, but the card being copied must still be in play (i.e., in the played card area) at the time the Cursed
card is played.
This is supported by the following:
-
On page 29, the FAQ states:
"Can I use a ‘Cursed’ card to copy the Trash effect of a card?
Yes, but remember that you would trash the ‘Cursed’ card as well. The best example of this would be trashing ‘Sprint’ for 3 and then copying it with ‘Cursed’ for another 3 . This would give you a total of 6 and 1 . You would trash both the ‘Sprint’ and ‘Cursed’ card from your deck." -
On page 30, it is explained:
"Every character has ‘Cursed’ cards in their starting deck that allow you to copy the effect of any other card you played this phase. This allows you to copy the more powerful cards that you are acquiring but will require you to increase your [Curse]. When you copy another card, remember that you must copy everything on it."
From these references:
- The
Cursed
card copies the effect of another card "you played this phase," which means the card must have been played and still be available to copy during the phase. - The FAQ example specifically describes trashing
Sprint
and then copying it withCursed
in the same phase, resulting in both cards being trashed and both trash effects being resolved.
Summary
A player can use a Cursed
card to copy the trash effect of another card as long as the card being copied was played this phase and is still in the played card area at the time the Cursed
card is played. Both cards are then trashed, and both trash effects are resolved.
Source: page 29 (FAQ), page 30 (Cursed card rules)
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 28, 29, 30, 4, 8)
Mode: inferred
When a monster moves and there are multiple shortest paths to San Andreas, and multiple players are along those paths, how is the monster's movement priority determined if there is still a tie after preferring spaces with players?
If there are multiple shortest paths to San Andreas and multiple players are along those paths, the monster's movement is determined as follows:
- Monsters always move towards San Andreas by taking the shortest route with the fewest symbols.
- If there is a tie, the Monster always prefers to move into a space with a player.
- If it’s still a tie, the player with the First Player Token should decide and move the monster.
So, if after preferring spaces with players there is still a tie, the player with the First Player Token decides which path the monster takes.
This is supported by the following from page 23:
If there is a tie, the Monster always prefers to move into a space with a player. If it’s still a tie, the player with the First Player Token should decide and move the monster.
Source: page 23
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 23, 24, 26, 29)
Mode: inferred
If a player uses a card or effect to reduce their curse below their Curse Threshold, when exactly do they flip their character back to the normal side?
When a player's Curse drops back below their Curse Threshold, they immediately flip their character card back over to the Normal side.
This is supported by the following rule:
- "When you reach your Curse Threshold (when your colored cube overlaps the purple cube), flip over your character card to the Cursed side. If your Curse ever drops back below this Threshold, flip it back over to the Normal side."
(Page 8)
The rule uses the word "ever," indicating that the flip happens as soon as the Curse is below the threshold, with no delay or additional timing specified.
Source: page 8
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 17, 29, 30, 7, 8)
Mode: inferred
If two or more players are on the same space and both want to rob each other in the same round, how is this resolved?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context (see page 22) explains how a player may rob another if they share a space and meet the requirements, but it does not specify how to resolve situations where multiple players wish to rob each other simultaneously or in the same round. The rulebook does not address the order of resolving such actions or whether both robberies can occur.
To answer this, the rulebook would need to clarify:
- The order in which players declare and resolve actions when on the same space.
- Whether multiple robberies can occur between the same players in a single round.
Source: page 22.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 14, 21, 22, 26)
Mode: inferred
Can players hold onto cards in hand from round to round, and are there any limits on hand size at any point?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context does not specify whether players must discard their hand at the end of a round or if there is a hand size limit. The rules on page 13 describe how to draw, play, and discard cards during a turn, but do not mention any restrictions or requirements regarding hand size or retaining cards between rounds. Additional information from the rulebook would be needed to answer this question definitively.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 18, 28, 7)
Mode: inferred
If a player is critically wounded and must pay water to return to San Andreas but cannot, and also does not have enough health to pay the remainder, what happens?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The rulebook on Page 8 explains that if your health reaches zero, you immediately end your turn, lose three Grit, move your figure to San Andreas, and pay water equal to the number of spaces you moved. If you do not have enough water, you should reduce your health by one for each water you’re short. However, the rulebook does not specify what happens if you also do not have enough health to pay the remainder (i.e., if you would need to reduce your health below zero).
To answer this question, the rulebook would need to clarify what occurs when a player cannot pay the required penalty in either water or health (for example, if their health is already at zero or would be reduced below zero).
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 15, 22, 23, 8)
Mode: inferred
Can a player take the Camp action if they have no cards left in their hand or discard pile, and if so, do they still gain one Health?
Answer
Yes, a player can take the Camp action even if they have no cards left in their hand or discard pile, and they still gain one Health.
Explanation
-
The Camp action is described as follows:
"When you take the camp action, immediately shuffle all (play area, discard, deck and hand) of your cards back into your deck and gain one . You DO NOT return to San Andreas when your deck is reshuffled this way. This ends your action phase." (Page 22) -
The rule does not specify any requirement to have cards in your hand or discard pile to take the Camp action. It simply instructs you to shuffle all your cards from all zones back into your deck (even if some or all of those zones are empty) and then gain one Health.
-
Therefore, even if your hand and discard pile are empty, you can still take the Camp action and gain one Health.
Source: page 22.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 19, 22, 23, 7)
Mode: inferred
If a player is forced to reshuffle their deck due to being unable to draw cards during another player's turn (for example, due to an effect or robbery), do they immediately return to San Andreas or wait for their own turn?
If a player is forced to reshuffle their deck at any time other than by taking the camp action, they must immediately return to San Andreas, regardless of whose turn it is.
This is supported by the following rules:
- On page 13:
"At any time, if your personal deck is empty and you need to draw a card or reveal a card from the top of your deck, reshuffle your discard pile to replenish your deck. When this occurs, you must return your character to San Andreas." - On page 23:
"If you shuffled your deck at any point during this past round other than by taking the camp action, return your figure to San Andreas. This includes a reshuffle as a result of the Redraw step."
There is no indication that this rule only applies during your own turn. The phrase "at any time" and "if you shuffled your deck at any point during this past round" both indicate that the return to San Andreas is immediate, regardless of whose turn it is.
Summary:
A player who reshuffles their deck for any reason other than the camp action must immediately return to San Andreas, even if it happens during another player's turn.
Source:
Page 13, Page 23
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 13, 20, 22, 23, 32)