Rulora logo

Rulora

Let’s Go! To Japan

20 Questions Answered

📘 Available Rulebooks:

Answered Questions

Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.

Mode: inferred

When scoring for trains, if a player ends a day in Tokyo and begins the next day in Tokyo but has a yellow card at the boundary, can they assign the yellow card's city to avoid a Train token, or must they be consistent with earlier choices?

Answer

A player can assign the city for each yellow-background (generic) card separately at each boundary; they do not need to be consistent with earlier choices for that card. The rulebook states:

  • "Some cards have a yellow background and do not list a city. These are generic activities, and a player chooses separately for each of these cards whether to count it as Tokyo or Kyoto."
    (page 13)

This means:

  • At each boundary between days (or between cards), when determining if a Train token is needed, the player can decide the city for the yellow card at that moment.
  • There is no requirement to be consistent with previous or future choices for that card’s city assignment.

Therefore, if a player ends a day in Tokyo and begins the next day in Tokyo, and there is a yellow-background card at the boundary, the player can assign that card to Tokyo for both days to avoid placing a Train token.

Source: page 13.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 13, 16, 3, 7, 8)

Mode: inferred

Does the player have any opportunity to rearrange the order of cards within a day or between days at any point after placement, such as during scoring or due to a special effect, or is placement always permanent?

Placement of cards is always permanent. According to the rulebook:

  • "Once a card is placed, it may NOT be discarded, moved to a different day, or swapped with the position of another card in the same day."
    (page 6, card placement section)

There is no mention of any special effect or phase (including during scoring) that allows rearranging cards within a day or between days after they have been placed.

Summary:
Card placement is permanent and cannot be changed after the card is placed, as stated on page 6.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 3, 5, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

If a player has more than three cards in a day due to Walk or Extra Walk cards, how is the order of activation determined, and can the player choose the order of face-up and face-down cards?

Order of Activation and Choice for Walk/Extra Walk Cards

Based on the rulebook context:

  • Each day can have a maximum of 3 cards in its column. Extra Walk cards are the exception.
    (Page 6)

  • Walk and Extra Walk cards are placed face-down when added.
    (Page 7)

  • During scoring, when a player comes upon a face-down Walk or Extra Walk card, they reveal it and decide whether to play and activate the card face-up in its current position or leave it face-down.
    (Page 10)

Order of Activation

  • The cards in each day’s column are stacked so that the upper section of each card is visible, and the card at the bottom is the “Highlight of the Day.”
    (Page 6)
  • During the trip (scoring), the player proceeds through their itinerary in order, encountering each card in the column from top to bottom (i.e., in the order they were placed, with the bottom card being last).
    (Implied by the stacking and scoring process described on Page 10)

Choice of Face-Up or Face-Down

  • When a player reaches a face-down Walk or Extra Walk card during scoring, they may choose at that moment to:

    • Play and activate it face-up in its current position, or
    • Leave it face-down, in which case it does not activate but is worth 1 point, a Walk icon, and, if in the “Highlight of the Day” position, 2 points.
      (Page 10)
  • This choice is made for each Walk or Extra Walk card as it is encountered in order during the scoring process.

Summary

  • Activation proceeds in the order the cards are stacked in the day’s column, from top to bottom.
  • For each face-down Walk or Extra Walk card encountered, the player chooses at that moment whether to flip it face-up (and activate it) or leave it face-down.
  • The player cannot change the order of cards or skip ahead; the order is fixed by how the cards were placed during the game.

Source:
Page 6 (card placement and stacking), Page 7 (Walk/Extra Walk rules), Page 10 (scoring and activation of Walk/Extra Walk cards)

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 3, 5, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

During the final round, if two different types of Stress or Happiness icons are required for a bonus, do icons of one type substitute for the other, or must the exact icon types be matched?

Icons of one type do not substitute for the other; the exact icon types must be matched.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "Players must also take care to differentiate between each of the 2 types of red Stress icons and 2 types of green Happiness icons; they are not equivalent!"
    (page 15)

Therefore, if a bonus requires a specific type of Stress or Happiness icon, only that exact icon counts toward fulfilling the requirement. The other type does not substitute.

Source: page 15.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 11, 15, 5, 7)

Mode: inferred

For bracketed Highlight of the Day bonuses that score for complete sets, if additional icons are earned from previous Highlight of the Day bonuses, do these count as icons for set completion?

Yes, additional icons earned from previous Highlight of the Day bonuses do count as icons for set completion in bracketed Highlight of the Day bonuses.

Explanation

  • On page 15, it states:
    "Some 'Highlight of the Day' bonuses, if their requirements have been met, give players icons that grant additional movement of a player’s Experience Track and Mood Track tokens. These earned icons should be treated and counted the same as the icons previously collected on the upper sections of the cards when scoring future days in the itinerary."
  • This means that any icons gained from earlier Highlight of the Day bonuses are added to your total icon count for the purposes of scoring later bonuses, including those that require complete sets (brackets).

Example

  • If a player has previously earned a Temples/Shrines icon from a Highlight of the Day bonus, that icon is included when counting complete sets for a later bracketed bonus that requires Temples/Shrines and Nature/Gardens icons.

Source: page 15.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 15, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

When using multiple Research tokens in a single round, must the draws and discards be fully resolved one at a time before using the next token, or can a player combine the draws and discards for efficiency?

When using multiple Research tokens in a single round, the draws and discards must be fully resolved one at a time before using the next token. The rulebook states:

"A player may use more than 1 Research token, as long as they complete the draw and discard actions for each token separately."
(page 5)

This means a player must:

  • Discard a Research token,
  • Draw 3 cards in any combination from the Tokyo and Kyoto decks,
  • Immediately discard any 3 cards to the face-up discard pile,
  • Only then may they use another Research token and repeat the process.

Players may not combine the draws and discards from multiple Research tokens for efficiency; each token's effect must be resolved in full before the next is used.

Source: page 5

Source: Base Rules (pp. 2, 3, 5, 7, 8)

Mode: inferred

If a player cannot fulfill the requirements for any available Day Bonus after matching icons, do they simply forfeit the bonus, or can they choose a lesser bonus even if they did not reach the threshold for it?

A player may only choose a lesser bonus if they have matched enough icons for a higher bonus. Specifically:

  • If a player matches 2 icons, they can choose to take the lesser bonus for matching only 1 icon.
  • If a player matches 3 icons, they can choose to take any 1 of the lesser bonuses instead.
  • However, if a player does not match at least 1 icon (i.e., does not meet the minimum threshold for any bonus), they do not receive a Day Bonus.

This is supported by the following rule:

"A player who has matched 2 icons can choose to take the lesser bonus for matching only 1 icon. A player who has matched 3 icons can choose to take any 1 of the lesser bonuses instead. No additional bonuses are earned for matching 4 or more icons to the Favorable Condition token for a single day."
(page 8)

Therefore, if a player cannot fulfill the requirements for any available Day Bonus (i.e., they have not matched at least 1 icon), they simply forfeit the bonus and do not receive any Day Bonus.

Source: page 8

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 15, 7, 8)

Mode: inferred

For city-based Highlight of the Day bonuses, do face-down Walk cards count as being in the city shown on their back even if later revealed to be a yellow-background card when played face-up?

Yes, for city-based "Highlight of the Day" bonuses, Walk cards—whether left face-down or activated face-up—are counted as being in the city indicated on the back of the card.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "Remember that for any card with a yellow background, a player chooses whether to count it as Tokyo or Kyoto. However, Walk cards, whether left face-down or activated face-up, are counted as being in the city indicated on the back of the card."
    (page 15)

Therefore, even if a Walk card is later revealed to have a yellow background when played face-up, it still counts as being in the city shown on its back for the purposes of city-based bonuses.

Source: page 15.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 15, 6, 7, 8)

Mode: inferred

If a player earns a Day Bonus and chooses to move the Mood Tracker, does this movement potentially trigger a Stress or Happiness Tracker movement immediately, or only at the end of the round?

Yes, moving the Mood Tracker as a result of choosing the Day Bonus can immediately trigger a movement of the Stress Tracker or Happiness Tracker.

Explanation

  • On page 7, under "2a. day bonuses," it states that one of the available bonuses is:
    • "Move the Mood Tracker token 1 space to the right."
  • It also specifies:
    • "When a player chooses to take the Day Bonus. In that case, the Mood Tracker token should be moved immediately."
  • On page 11, the rules for the Mood Tracker state:
    • "Whenever the Mood Tracker token reaches the rightmost space on the Mood Tracker, move the Happiness Tracker token 1 space to the right and reset the Mood Tracker token to the center space."
    • "Similarly, whenever the Mood Tracker token reaches the leftmost space on the Mood Tracker, move the Stress Tracker token 1 space to the right and reset the Mood Tracker token to the center space."
  • There is no indication that these effects are delayed; the movement and its consequences happen as soon as the Mood Tracker is moved, regardless of the source of the movement.

Summary

If a player chooses the Day Bonus to move the Mood Tracker and this movement causes the Mood Tracker to reach the leftmost or rightmost space, the corresponding Stress or Happiness Tracker is moved immediately, and the Mood Tracker is reset to the center space at that moment.

Source: page 7 (Day Bonus timing), page 11 (Mood Tracker effects)

Source: Base Rules (pp. 11, 12, 2, 7)

Mode: inferred

When discarding a card to go for a Walk, does the discarded card go to the face-up discard immediately, and can the player choose to go for a Walk with a card they just drew via Research that turn?

Discarding a Card to Go for a Walk

  • When a player decides to go for a Walk, they discard 1 card from their hand to the face-up discard pile.
    This is stated as:

    "A player does this by discarding 1 card from their hand to the face-up discard pile, taking the top face-down card (without looking at it) from either the Tokyo or Kyoto deck, and placing it face-down in their itinerary as they would any other Activity card."
    (page 7)

  • The discard happens immediately as part of the process of going for a Walk.

Using a Card Just Drawn via Research

  • Players may use Research tokens to draw additional cards after their regular draw for the round, but before passing cards at the end of the round.

    "At any time after drawing their regular cards for the round but before passing cards at the end of the round, a player may discard a Research token to the supply to draw 3 cards in any combination from the Tokyo and Kyoto decks to their hand. The player must then IMMEDIATELY discard any 3 cards to the face-up discard pile in the center play area."
    (page 5)

  • There is no restriction in the rules that prevents a player from using a card they just drew via Research to go for a Walk. The only requirement is that the card is in their hand.

Summary

  • The card discarded to go for a Walk is placed in the face-up discard pile immediately.
  • A player may choose to go for a Walk with a card they just drew via Research that turn, as long as it is in their hand and before passing cards.

Source: pages 5 and 7.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 3, 5, 6, 7, 8)

Mode: inferred

If a player has unused Luxury Train tokens at the end of the trip, are they worth any points or benefits, or are they discarded with no effect?

Unused Luxury Train tokens at the end of a player’s trip are worth 0 points.

This is stated on page 13:
"Unused Luxury Train tokens at the end of a player’s trip are worth 0 points."

Source: page 13

Source: Base Rules (pp. 13, 14, 15, 16, 7)

Mode: inferred

When fulfilling Highlight of the Day requirements showing Mood icons, do icons provided by previously scored Highlight of the Day bonuses also count, or only those on Activity cards and Luxury Train tokens?

Icons provided by previously scored Highlight of the Day bonuses do count toward fulfilling future Highlight of the Day requirements that show Mood Tracker icons.

This is supported by the following from page 15:

Some “Highlight of the Day” bonuses, if their requirements have been met, give players icons that grant additional movement of a player’s Experience Track and Mood Track tokens. These earned icons should be treated and counted the same as the icons previously collected on the upper sections of the cards when scoring future days in the itinerary.

Therefore:

  • Mood icons gained from earlier Highlight of the Day bonuses are added to your total and are valid for meeting requirements on later Highlight of the Day cards.
  • You should refer to where your tokens currently are on the Experience Track to quickly count how many you have of each of the 5 Experience Track icons.

Source: page 15.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 15, 16, 7)

Mode: inferred

For Highlight of the Day bonuses that require 'no X icons', do icons from face-down Walk cards count, or only those from activated face-up cards?

Icons from face-down Walk cards do count for "no X icons" Highlight of the Day bonus requirements.

This is supported by the following from page 15:

  • "A player can count the number of walks they have taken by looking for icons, which are at the top of any Walk cards left face-down, and Walk tokens, which should have been placed each time they chose to activate a Walk card by turning it face-up."
  • For "X" icons: "Bonus requirements showing an 'X' through an icon mean that a player must not have any of that particular icon activated on any of their cards in their itinerary up until that card to score the bonus."

The rulebook consistently refers to icons "activated on any of their cards," and for Walk cards, the icons at the top of face-down cards are considered activated for the purposes of bonus requirements. This is further clarified in the context of Walk icons, where both face-down icons and Walk tokens (from face-up cards) are counted.

Summary:
Icons from both face-down Walk cards and activated face-up cards are counted when checking "no X icons" requirements for Highlight of the Day bonuses.

Source: page 15

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 15, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

If a player is required to move an Experience token past the 12 space multiple times, do they receive multiple 12 tokens, and how does this affect Highlight of the Day bonuses that refer to total icons?

Experience Token Movement Past 12

  • If a player needs to move one of their Experience tokens past the “12” space (which is worth 15 points), the player should:
    • Move the token back to the “0” space,
    • Take a “12” token from the supply,
    • Place it under the Experience token,
    • Continue moving the Experience token forward as normal.
  • This process is repeated each time the token passes the “12” space, so a player can collect multiple “12” tokens if they loop the track multiple times.

Source: page 14

Scoring and Highlight of the Day Bonuses

  • The “12” tokens are used to keep track of how many times the Experience token has completed the track, which is important for Highlight of the Day bonuses that refer to the total number of icons collected.
  • When scoring such bonuses, players can refer to where their tokens currently are on the Experience Track to quickly count how many they have of each of the 5 Experience Track icons.
  • Each time the token passes “12” and loops, it represents collecting another full set of that icon.

Source: page 15

Summary

  • Yes, a player receives multiple “12” tokens if they pass the “12” space multiple times.
  • For Highlight of the Day bonuses that refer to the total number of icons, each full loop (each “12” token) counts as another set of that icon, and the current position of the token on the track adds to the total.

References:

  • Page 14 (Experience Track and “12” tokens)
  • Page 15 (Counting icons for Highlight of the Day bonuses)

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 12, 14, 15)

Mode: inferred

When a player activates a card that moves the Mood Tracker, and the Mood Tracker reaches the end of the track, does the remaining movement beyond the reset count toward the next Stress or Happiness Tracker movement?

No, the remaining movement beyond the reset does not count toward the next Stress or Happiness Tracker movement.

When the Mood Tracker token reaches either the rightmost or leftmost space on the Mood Tracker, you immediately:

  • Move the corresponding Happiness or Stress Tracker token 1 space to the right (unless it is already at the rightmost space, in which case it stays).
  • Reset the Mood Tracker token to the center space.

Any remaining movement is not carried over after the reset. Each time the Mood Tracker reaches an end, the movement stops, the appropriate tracker is advanced, and the Mood Tracker is reset to the center. If a card effect would move the Mood Tracker multiple spaces and it reaches the end, only the movement up to the end is counted, and the rest is not applied after the reset.

This is supported by the example on page 12:

"Third, he scores 1 point for Onsen and needs to move his Mood Tracker token 2 spaces to the right on his Mood Track. After moving it 1 space, he has reached the rightmost space of the track, so he moves his Happiness Tracker token 1 space to the right and resets the Mood Tracker token to the center space. Then he moves the Mood Tracker token 1 space to the right."

This shows that after the reset, any remaining movement is applied starting from the center, not carried over from the previous movement. Each time the end is reached, the process repeats: move the tracker, reset, and continue with any remaining movement.

Source: page 11, page 12.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 11, 12, 15, 2, 7)

Mode: inferred

For Train token placement, if consecutive cards are both yellow-background and can be assigned cities, does the player assign their city for Train purposes before or after Train token placement, and can this be manipulated for fewer Train tokens?

Answer

Based on the rulebook context, specifically page 13, the following applies:

  • Yellow-background cards are "generic activities," and "a player chooses separately for each of these cards whether to count it as Tokyo or Kyoto."
  • This choice is made "for each of these cards," and the context does not specify a timing restriction relative to Train token placement.
  • Train tokens must be placed "each time a player will be traveling from Tokyo to Kyoto (or vice versa)" between Activity cards in their itinerary.

Manipulation for Fewer Train Tokens

  • Since the player chooses the city for each yellow-background card, and the rulebook does not specify that this choice must be made before planning or before Train token placement, it is implied that the player can assign the cities at the time of Train token placement.
  • Therefore, the player can assign consecutive yellow-background cards to the same city to avoid placing a Train token between them.
  • This allows the player to minimize the number of Train tokens by strategically assigning cities to yellow-background cards.

Supporting Citations

  • "Some cards have a yellow background and do not list a city. These are generic activities, and a player chooses separately for each of these cards whether to count it as Tokyo or Kyoto." (page 13)
  • "Each time a player will be traveling from Tokyo to Kyoto (or vice versa), they must place one of the following Train tokens between the Activity cards in their itinerary..." (page 13)

Summary

The player assigns the city for each yellow-background card at the time of Train token placement, and may do so in a way that minimizes the number of Train tokens required by assigning consecutive yellow-background cards to the same city.

Source: page 13

Source: Base Rules (pp. 13, 16, 2, 3, 7)

Mode: inferred

If a player chooses to leave a Walk or Extra Walk card face-down in the Highlight of the Day position, do they still receive the two points printed on the bottom of the card in addition to the standard one point for a face-down Walk?

Yes, if a player chooses to leave a Walk or Extra Walk card face-down in the "Highlight of the Day" position, they receive the two points printed at the bottom of the card instead of the standard one point for a face-down Walk.

This is supported by the following rulebook references:

  • On page 10:

    "If a Walk or Extra Walk card was placed at the bottom of a column in the 'Highlight of the Day' position and the player chooses to leave it face-down, then that card scores an additional 2 points, as indicated at the bottom of the card, with no requirements that need to be fulfilled."

  • On page 7:

    "If left face-down, the card is worth 2 points, as indicated at the bottom of the card."

This means:

  • The standard one point for a face-down Walk is replaced by the two points shown at the bottom of the card when it is in the "Highlight of the Day" position and left face-down.
  • The player does not receive both the standard one point and the two points; they receive only the two points as specified for the Highlight of the Day position.

Source: pages 7 and 10.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 15, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

When placing a yellow-background Activity card, can the city designation be changed later for scoring or Train token placement, or is the choice permanent upon placement?

When placing a yellow-background Activity card (which does not list a city), the rulebook states:

  • "These are generic activities, and a player chooses separately for each of these cards whether to count it as Tokyo or Kyoto."
  • There is no indication that this choice can be changed later; the context implies the choice is made at the time the card is placed for the purposes of scoring and Train token placement.

Additionally, the rules on page 6 specify:
"Once a card is placed, it may NOT be discarded, moved to a different day, or swapped with the position of another card in the same day."

Summary

The city designation for a yellow-background Activity card is chosen when the card is placed and is permanent for all future purposes, including scoring and Train token placement.

Source:
Page 13 (yellow-background Activity cards and city choice), Page 6 (card placement is final)

Source: Base Rules (pp. 13, 3, 4, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

If a player earns an Extra Walk as a Day Bonus but already has 3 cards in that day's column, does the Extra Walk become a fourth card, and does this affect the maximum for that column?

Yes, if a player earns an Extra Walk as a Day Bonus and already has 3 cards in that day's column, the Extra Walk becomes a fourth card in that column. This is a specific exception to the usual maximum of 3 cards per day.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • "Each day can have a maximum of 3 cards in its column. (Extra Walk cards, which are explained on page 8, are the exception.)"
    (page 6)

Further, the rules for Extra Walk state:

  • "When taking this bonus, a player simply takes a face-down card (without looking at it) from either the Tokyo or Kyoto deck and places it face-down in their itinerary in the day for which they earned the bonus, so that there are 4 cards in this column, otherwise respecting placement rules."
    (page 8)

Summary

  • The Extra Walk card is placed as a fourth card in the column, exceeding the normal 3-card limit for that day.
  • This exception only applies to Extra Walk cards.

Sources:
page 6, page 8

Source: Base Rules (pp. 10, 15, 6, 7, 8)

Mode: inferred

When using a Wild token during the final round, can you use it at any point in your turn, including between activating cards or only before or after a day's activation?

You may use a Wild token at any time during the final round to move an Experience token of your choice 1 space forward on the Experience Track. The rulebook states:

"When a player goes on their trip in the final round, they can discard a Wild token at any time to move an Experience token of their choice 1 space forward on the Experience Track."
(page 8)

There is no restriction mentioned about when during your turn you may use the Wild token, nor does it specify that it must be before or after a day's activation. The phrase "at any time" supports that you may use it even between activating cards.

Source: page 8

Summary:
You may use a Wild token at any point during your turn in the final round, including between activating cards.

Source: Base Rules (pp. 3, 5, 6, 7, 8)