King of Tokyo: Origins
β 20 Questions Answered
π Available Rulebooks:
- Core Rulebook v1.0
Answered Questions
Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.
Mode: inferred
Can power cards be bought after a monster has reached 20 victory points but before the end of the turn?
Yes, power cards can be bought after a monster has reached 20 victory points but before the end of the turn.
This is supported by the following rules:
-
The game ends "at the end of a turn when a Monster reaches 20 or if only one Monster remains" (page 6).
-
The turn sequence is:
- Roll Dice
- Resolve Dice
- Enter Tokyo
- Buy Power Cards
- End of Turn
(page 4)
-
The rulebook specifies: "If you reach 20 and reach 0 in the same turn because of a Power card, you are eliminated. You must survive your turn to win." (page 6)
This means:
- Reaching 20 victory points does not immediately end the game; the turn must finish.
- The "Buy Power Cards" step occurs before the "End of Turn" step.
- Therefore, after reaching 20 victory points (for example, during the "Resolve Dice" step), you still proceed to the "Buy Power Cards" step and may purchase power cards before the turn ends and the win is checked.
Source: pages 4 and 6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
If a monster outside Tokyo rolls smash when no one is in Tokyo, does anyone take damage?
No, if a monster outside Tokyo rolls smash
(the attack symbol) when no one is in Tokyo, no one takes damage.
This is supported by the following rules:
- On page 5, under "Enter Tokyo," it states:
"If no one is in Tokyo, your Monster takes control of Tokyo. Place it on the board." - On page 4, under "smash," it states:
"If you are outside of Tokyo and you rollsmash
, wound the Monster who is in Tokyo." - Also on page 4:
"Since no Monster starts the game in Tokyo, the Monster who plays first does not cause Monsters to lose [life] withsmash
."
Since the rule specifies that only the Monster in Tokyo can be wounded by a Monster outside of Tokyo rolling smash
, and if there is no Monster in Tokyo, there is no target to wound. Therefore, no one takes damage.
Source: pages 4β5.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
Are you allowed to resolve dice in any order you choose, and does the order affect interactions with power cards or other effects?
Yes, you are allowed to resolve dice in any order you choose. According to page 4:
- "You can resolve your dice in any order, but you must resolve all of them."
This means you have the flexibility to choose the sequence in which you apply the effects of your rolled dice.
Regarding interactions with power cards or other effects: The rulebook states on page 6 that "Certain Power card effects activate at the end of your turn." However, it does not provide specific details about how the order of resolving dice interacts with power cards or other effects during the dice resolution step. The only explicit timing mentioned for power cards is that some activate at the end of your turn.
Summary
- You may resolve dice in any order you choose (page 4).
- The rulebook does not specify any interactions between the order of dice resolution and power cards or other effects during the dice resolution step, except that some power cards activate at the end of your turn (page 6).
Source: pages 4 and 6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
If a monster is eliminated by yielding Tokyo, does the next player immediately enter Tokyo or must they wait for their turn?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context explains that:
- A Monster may Yield Tokyo only after being wounded (page 6).
- If a Monster loses their last Life Point, they are eliminated and their keep cards and Energy cubes are discarded (page 4).
- When no one is in Tokyo, a Monster takes control of Tokyo by placing it on the board (page 5).
- The first player must enter Tokyo during the "Enter Tokyo" step (page 5).
However, the rulebook does not specify what happens if Tokyo becomes empty due to a Monster being eliminated while yielding. It does not clarify whether the next player immediately enters Tokyo or must wait for their turn.
To answer this question, the rulebook would need to specify the procedure for when Tokyo becomes empty outside of the normal "Enter Tokyo" step.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
In a two-player game, what happens if both monsters are eliminated in the same turn?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context mentions an "optional rule for a 2-player game" (page 5), but the details of this rule are not included in the excerpts. However, the general rule for simultaneous elimination is given:
- "If all Monsters are eliminated at the same time... everyone loses!" (page 6)
But since the context also references a special rule for two players without providing its content, it is unclear if this general rule is modified for two-player games. To answer definitively, the full text of the optional two-player rule would be needed.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
Can a player spend energy cubes to buy power cards or sweep during another player's turn or only during their own?
A player can spend energy cubes to buy Power cards or sweep only during their own turn.
This is supported by the following rules:
-
Under the section "4. Buy power Cards" (page 6), it states:
"You now may buy one or more of the three face-up cards. To buy a Power card, spend as many [energy cubes] as the cost indicated at the top of the card. ... As long as you have enough [energy cubes], you can continue to buy and/or sweep cards." -
The Turn Overview (page 4) lists "4. Buy Power Cards" as a step in the turn sequence, which occurs after resolving dice and before ending the turn.
There is no mention in the provided context of being able to buy or sweep Power cards outside of your own turn.
Source: pages 4 and 6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 6)
Mode: inferred
If a monster is eliminated during another player's turn, do their power cards and energy cubes immediately leave the game?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The provided rulebook context does not specify what happens to a Monster's Power cards or Energy cubes when that Monster is eliminated during another player's turn. The rules explain how to buy and use Power cards, and how Energy cubes are spent, but do not address the fate of these components upon elimination. To answer this question, the rulebook would need a section or rule about what to do with a Monster's possessions when they are eliminated.
Source: pages 2β6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
When rolling for victory points, do the extra dice for four or more of a kind need to be rolled at the same time or can they be accumulated over multiple turns?
You cannot accumulate dice for victory points over multiple turns. All dice used to score for three-of-a-kind and any additional matching dice must be rolled at the same time, during a single turn.
This is supported by the following rules:
- On your turn, you may roll the dice up to three times, setting aside and re-rolling as you wish, but all dice are resolved at the end of your turn (page 4).
- "If you roll three-of-a-kind of Faces for dices (King of tokyo) (2 kinds of dice, black dice and green dice), gain as many as the number. Each additional die rolled with the same face gains you 1 additional." (page 4)
- There is no mention of accumulating dice results across turns; all dice are resolved at the end of your rolling phase in a single turn.
Summary
All dice used to score for three-of-a-kind and additional matches must be rolled and resolved in the same turn. You cannot accumulate matching dice across multiple turns.
Source: page 4.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
If a monster gains more than 10 life points due to a power card, does it keep the excess if the card is later lost or discarded?
A Monster cannot go above 10 Life Points unless a keep Power card says otherwise. If a Power card allows a Monster to exceed 10 Life Points and that card is later lost or discarded, the rulebook does not specify what happens to the excess Life Points. There is no rule in the provided context about reducing Life Points back to 10 if the card is lost.
Source: page 6 β "Power cards do not let Monsters go above 10 , unless a keep card says otherwise."
I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook does not address what happens to excess Life Points if the enabling Power card is lost or discarded. To answer, a rule specifying the handling of Life Points in this situation would be needed.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
Is there a maximum amount of energy cubes a monster can hold?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context explains how to gain, spend, and keep Energy cubes (see page 2 and page 4), but it does not specify any maximum limit to the number of Energy cubes a Monster can hold. The rulebook only mentions a maximum for Life Points (10, unless a keep card says otherwise, see page 6), but no such rule is stated for Energy cubes.
To answer definitively, the rulebook would need to explicitly state a maximum limit for Energy cubes, which it does not in the provided context.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 6)
Mode: inferred
Can a monster in Tokyo yield if it does not actually lose any life from a smash attack due to a defensive power card?
A Monster in Tokyo can only Yield when it loses life from a smash attack (i.e., from dice rolled by another Monster). If a defensive Power card prevents the Monster from actually losing any life, then it has not "lost" life from the attack and therefore cannot Yield.
This is supported by the following rules:
- "You can only Yield when you lose from Faces for dices (King of tokyo) (2 kinds of dice, black dice and green dice) rolled by a Monster." (page 5)
- "Yield: a Monster may Yield Tokyo only after being wounded." (page 6)
- "Wound: a Monster wounds another Monster when it makes them lose one or more with their Faces for dices (King of tokyo) (2 kinds of dice, black dice and green dice) during the Resolve Dice step." (page 6)
If no life is lost (i.e., the Monster is not wounded), the Monster cannot Yield.
Source: pages 5 and 6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
If a monster in Tokyo is attacked and chooses to yield, does the attacking monster immediately enter Tokyo or only at the start of their next turn?
The attacking monster immediately enters Tokyo when the monster in Tokyo yields.
This is supported by the following from page 5:
- "If no one is in Tokyo, your Monster takes control of Tokyo. Place it on the board."
- "You can only Yield when you lose from [attack dice] rolled by a Monster."
The rules describe that when a monster yields Tokyo (after being wounded by attack dice), the attacking monster immediately takes control of Tokyo and is placed on the board. There is no indication that the attacker waits until their next turn.
Source: page 5.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
What happens if all three face-up power cards are swept and the deck runs out before three new cards can be revealed?
I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context explains that when you sweep all three face-up Power cards, you "reveal three new Power cards from the deck" and that "they are immediately available for purchase" (page 6). However, it does not specify what to do if the deck runs out and you cannot reveal three new cards. The rulebook does not mention reshuffling the discard pile or any other procedure for this situation.
To answer this question, the rulebook would need to include instructions for handling the Power card deck when it is depleted.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
Can a player roll previously set aside dice during their third roll if they changed their mind?
Yes, a player can roll previously set aside dice during their third roll if they change their mind.
This is supported by the following rule:
- On your turn, you can roll the dice up to three times. For your second Roll, if you like some of your results, you can set them aside and only roll the ones you donβt like again. For your third Roll, if you change your mind, you can roll any dice you set aside again, along with any you still donβt like.
(Page 4)
This means that during the third roll, you are allowed to pick up and re-roll any dice, including those you had previously set aside.
Source: page 4
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
If the last monster yields Tokyo and is eliminated, who takes control of Tokyo next?
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The provided rulebook context explains that:
- A Monster can only Yield Tokyo after being wounded (page 6).
- If a Monster loses their last Life Point, they are eliminated and their keep cards and Energy cubes are discarded (page 4).
- When no one is in Tokyo, a Monster can take control of Tokyo (page 5).
However, the rulebook does not specify what happens if the last Monster in Tokyo yields and is eliminated at the same time. It does not clarify whether the attacking Monster (who caused the elimination) immediately takes control of Tokyo, or if Tokyo remains empty until the next opportunity.
To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to specify the procedure for taking control of Tokyo when it is vacated due to elimination, especially during the resolution of attacks.
Source: pages 4β6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
Are you allowed to buy and use power cards immediately after eliminating a monster and before the game ends?
Yes, you are allowed to buy and use Power cards immediately after eliminating a Monster, as long as it is still your turn and the game has not ended.
Explanation
-
According to the turn structure on page 4, the steps are:
- Roll Dice
- Resolve Dice
- Enter Tokyo
- Buy Power Cards
- End of Turn
-
The elimination of a Monster can occur during the Resolve Dice step or as a result of a Power card effect. The Buy Power Cards step comes after this, so you may still buy Power cards after eliminating a Monster, provided the game has not ended.
-
The game ends at the end of a turn when a Monster reaches 20 Victory Points or if only one Monster remains (page 6). If you eliminate a Monster but there are still at least two Monsters left, the game continues and you proceed to the Buy Power Cards step.
-
If, during your turn, you eliminate all other Monsters and are the last one remaining, the game ends at the end of your turn (page 6). You may still complete your turn, including buying Power cards, before the game officially ends.
Source: pages 4, 5, and 6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
Can a monster in Tokyo heal through any means other than rolling heal dice, such as power cards?
Yes, a Monster in Tokyo can heal through means other than rolling heal dice, specifically through Power cards.
This is supported by the following rule:
- On page 4, under the "heal" section, it states:
"If you are outside of Tokyo, gain 1 [Life Point] for each [heal face] rolled.
If you are in Tokyo, the [heal faces] you roll do not let you gain [Life Points] (you can only gain [Life Points] with Power cards)."
This clearly indicates that while rolling heal dice does not allow a Monster in Tokyo to heal, Power cards can allow a Monster in Tokyo to gain Life Points if the card effect allows it.
Source: page 4.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
If a monster reaches 20 victory points and 0 life in the same turn, are they eliminated or do they win?
If a Monster reaches 20 Victory Points and 0 Life in the same turn because of a Power card, they are eliminated. You must survive your turn to win. If all Monsters are eliminated at the same time, everyone loses.
This is stated in the example on page 6:
"If you reach 20 and reach 0 in the same turn because of a Power card, you are eliminated. You must survive your turn to win. If all Monsters are eliminated at the same time... everyone loses!"
Source: page 6
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 2, 3, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
Can a monster yield Tokyo if they lose life due to a power card effect rather than smash dice?
A monster cannot yield Tokyo if they lose life due to a Power card effect. According to the rulebook:
- "A Monster can only Yield Tokyo when losing from Faces for dices (King of tokyo) (2 kinds of dice, black dice and green dice)." (page 4)
- "You can only Yield when you lose from Faces for dices (King of tokyo) (2 kinds of dice, black dice and green dice) rolled by a Monster." (page 5)
- The glossary further clarifies: "Yield: a Monster may Yield Tokyo only after being wounded." and "Wound: a Monster wounds another Monster when it makes them lose one or more with their Faces for dices (King of tokyo) (2 kinds of dice, black dice and green dice) during the Resolve Dice step." (page 6)
Losing life from a Power card effect is specifically stated as different from losing life from dice, and only the latter allows a monster to yield Tokyo.
Source: pages 4, 5, and 6.
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Mode: inferred
If multiple monsters are eliminated simultaneously due to a power card effect, does anyone win or does everyone lose?
If multiple Monsters are eliminated at the same time because of a Power card effect, everyone loses.
This is stated in the example on page 6:
"If you reach 20 and reach 0 in the same turn because of a Power card, you are eliminated. You must survive your turn to win. If all Monsters are eliminated at the same time... everyone loses!"
This rule is derived directly from the provided context.
Source: page 6
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 4, 5, 6)