Rulora logo

Rulora

👥 2 to 4 players
⏱️ 15 mn
🎂 6

If a monster outside Tokyo rolls smash when no one is in Tokyo, does anyone take damage?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

No, if a monster outside Tokyo rolls smash (the attack symbol) when no one is in Tokyo, no one takes damage.

This is supported by the following rules:

  • On page 5, under "Enter Tokyo," it states:
    "If no one is in Tokyo, your Monster takes control of Tokyo. Place it on the board."
  • On page 4, under "smash," it states:
    "If you are outside of Tokyo and you roll smash, wound the Monster who is in Tokyo."
  • Also on page 4:
    "Since no Monster starts the game in Tokyo, the Monster who plays first does not cause Monsters to lose [life] with smash."

Since the rule specifies that only the Monster in Tokyo can be wounded by a Monster outside of Tokyo rolling smash, and if there is no Monster in Tokyo, there is no target to wound. Therefore, no one takes damage.

Source: pages 4–5.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 3, 4, 5, 6)

Question ID: #509

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.