Rulora logo

Rulora

Sanctuary: The Keepers Era

20 Questions Answered

📘 Available Rulebooks:

Answered Questions

Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.

Mode: inferred

If a Unit's ability allows it to become active before End of Turn, can it attack or defend during the same turn, or must it wait until the next turn?

If a Unit becomes active before the End of Turn phase, it can participate in actions that require it to be active during that same turn.

This is supported by the following rules:

  • On page 26, it states: "All your Units become active (Rotate all exhausted Units to a vertical position)" during the End of the Turn phase, but it does not state that Units cannot become active by other means before this phase.
  • On page 24, during the Attack phase, "your Units in attack position start the offense towards the enemy Sanctuaries, from left to right." There is no restriction mentioned that prevents a Unit that has become active by an ability from attacking or defending in the same turn.
  • On page 21, the ZEALOUS attribute is defined as: "This Unit is deployed active (not exhausted) on the battlefield." This implies that being active allows immediate participation, as there is no mention of a waiting period.

Therefore, if a Unit's ability allows it to become active before the End of Turn phase, it can attack (if in attack position and during the Attack phase) or defend (if in defense position and attacked) during that same turn.

Source: pages 21, 24, and 26.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 21, 24, 26, 33)

Mode: inferred

Can a player look at the opponent's discard pile at any time, and in what order are cards kept if multiple are discarded simultaneously?

Discard Pile Visibility

  • According to page 12, "Discarded cards are piled here, face-up. You may look at them anytime but never change their order."
  • This means both players can look at the opponent's discard pile at any time.

Order of Cards in the Discard Pile

  • The same section specifies that the order of cards in the discard pile cannot be changed.
  • For simultaneous effects, page 22 states: "When this happens, the current player decides the order in which the abilities are resolved."
  • Therefore, if multiple cards are discarded or destroyed at the same time, the current player decides the order in which their effects are resolved, which would also determine the order in which they are placed in the discard pile.

Summary:

  • Players may look at the opponent's discard pile at any time, but cannot change the order of the cards.
  • When multiple cards are discarded simultaneously, the current player decides the order in which they are placed in the discard pile, based on the order of effect resolution.

Sources:

  • page 12 (Discard Pile Area visibility and order)
  • page 22 (Simultaneous Effects and order resolution)

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 12, 15, 17, 18, 22)

Mode: inferred

If a player discards cards during the End of Turn phase and then draws, but there are not enough cards in the deck, how do they resolve the Sanctuary destruction and hand refill?

Answer

If a player needs to draw cards during the End of the Turn phase to refill their hand, but their deck does not contain enough cards, the following rules apply:

  • At the beginning of your turn, if you have no cards left in your deck, you must choose one of your Sanctuaries to be destroyed automatically (page 17).
  • The rulebook does not specify what happens if you run out of cards while drawing during the End of the Turn phase (i.e., not at the beginning of your turn).

Reasoning

  • The only rule about running out of cards is on page 17: "At the beginning of your turn, if you have no cards left in your deck, you must choose one of your Sanctuaries to be destroyed automatically."
  • The End of the Turn phase (page 26) instructs you to "Draw cards from your deck until you reach your hand size," but does not specify what to do if the deck is empty or insufficient.
  • There is no mention of Sanctuary destruction or any other penalty for running out of cards during the End of the Turn phase.

Summary

I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook only specifies automatic Sanctuary destruction if your deck is empty at the beginning of your turn, not during the End of the Turn phase. It does not clarify what to do if you cannot fully refill your hand at the end of your turn due to an empty deck. Additional clarification from the rulebook or an official FAQ would be needed to answer this situation fully.

Source: page 17, page 26.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 17, 18, 20, 22, 26)

Mode: inferred

If a Unit with Veil is affected by a global Ritual (e.g., all Units take damage), does it ignore the effect or does Veil only protect from targeted effects?

Answer

Based on the rulebook context:

  • The Veil attribute is defined as: "This Unit cannot be targeted by enemy Rituals or Abilities."
    (See page 21)

  • There is no further elaboration in the provided context about the difference between targeted and non-targeted (global) effects.

  • The example for Veil specifically uses the word "targeted," implying that only effects that specifically choose the Veiled Unit as their target are prevented.

  • A global Ritual that affects "all Units" does not target any specific Unit; it applies its effect to all Units simultaneously.

Conclusion

A Unit with Veil is only protected from Rituals or Abilities that specifically target it. If a global Ritual affects all Units (such as "all Units take damage"), the Veiled Unit would not be protected and would be affected by the Ritual, because the effect is not targeting it specifically.

This answer is based on the definition of Veil on page 21, which states it prevents only being "targeted" by enemy Rituals or Abilities, and does not mention immunity to non-targeted or global effects.

Source: page 21.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 20, 21, 24, 25)

Mode: inferred

Are there any restrictions on deploying Units to attack or defense positions if all positions are already filled, or must the player use Replacing?

If all positions on the battlefield are already filled, the player must use Replacing to deploy a new Unit. The rulebook states:

  • "If you want to deploy a Unit on the same position as another card of yours, first you must destroy the card already in play that occupies that position, then you may put in play the new Unit. This is called Replacing."
    (Page 15, Section 4.4 - Replacing)

  • "Deploying means to assign a Unit, which enters into play, due to a Summoning or by resolving the effect of a card, to an available position on the battlefield. The assigned position must be valid (e.g.: An Acolyte with the Fierce attribute cannot be deployed on a defence position)."
    (Page 14, Section 4.2 - Deploying Units)

This means:

  • You cannot deploy a new Unit to a position that is already occupied unless you first destroy the existing card in that position using the Replacing process.
  • Deploying restrictions (such as those from attributes like Fierce) still apply when choosing a position.

Summary:
If all positions are filled, you must use Replacing to deploy a new Unit. You cannot simply deploy to an occupied position without first destroying the card there.

Source:
Page 14 (4.2 - Deploying Units), Page 15 (4.4 - Replacing)

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 14, 15, 24, 31, 33)

Mode: inferred

If a Sanctuary is repaired above zero Aegis after being reduced, does this reactivate any previously lost abilities if the Decay is already at zero?

A Sanctuary’s ability is activated for the rest of the game once its Decay counter reaches zero, regardless of its Aegis value. If a Sanctuary is destroyed (Aegis reaches zero), it is removed from the game and cannot be repaired. However, if a Sanctuary’s Aegis is reduced but not to zero (i.e., it is damaged but not destroyed), and then repaired above zero, the Sanctuary remains in play.

If the Decay counter has already reached zero, the Sanctuary’s ability is already activated and remains so for the rest of the game, as stated:

  • "If the Decay counter reaches zero, the Sanctuary ability is activated for the rest of the game." (page 20)
  • "A Sanctuary’s ability is ignored until the Decay track reaches 0." (page 11)

There is no rule indicating that losing Aegis or being damaged disables an already activated ability. Only destruction (Aegis at zero) removes the Sanctuary from play. Repairing Aegis above zero does not affect the status of the ability if Decay is already at zero.

Summary:
If a Sanctuary’s Decay is at zero, its ability remains active regardless of Aegis changes, as long as the Sanctuary is not destroyed. Repairing Aegis above zero does not reactivate or change the status of the ability—it remains active.

Sources:
Page 11, Page 20

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 20, 22, 24, 26)

Mode: inferred

When a Sanctuary's Decay reaches zero during the End of Turn phase, does its ability activate immediately, or does the player finish all other End of Turn steps first?

When a Sanctuary's Decay counter reaches zero, its ability is immediately activated for the rest of the game.

This is supported by the following:

  • On page 20, it states:
    "As for a Sanctuary’s Decay counter, it automatically decreases one space during each End of the Turn phase (8.4) of its controller. Once it reaches zero, the Sanctuary’s ability is immediately activated."

  • The End of Turn phase order on page 26 is:

    • All partial damage on Units is reset.
    • All your Units become active.
    • All your Sanctuaries decrease their Decay counter by 1.
    • Resolve all “At the end of your turn” abilities and effects in any order.
    • Discard cards as needed.
    • Draw up to hand size.

The Decay counter decreases before resolving "At the end of your turn" abilities. Therefore, if the Decay counter reaches zero at this step, the Sanctuary's ability is activated immediately at that point, before any "At the end of your turn" abilities or effects are resolved.

Summary:
A Sanctuary's ability activates immediately when its Decay counter reaches zero, during the Decay decrease step of the End of Turn phase, before any other End of Turn effects are resolved.

Source:
Page 20, Page 26

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 20, 22, 23, 26)

Mode: inferred

If a Champion is destroyed and removed from the game, and then a card would return a destroyed Unit from the discard pile, does the Champion return or remain out of the game?

A destroyed Champion remains out of the game and does not return if a card would return a destroyed Unit from the discard pile.

Explanation

  • According to page 16, "Destroyed Acolytes are moved to the Discard Pile, while destroyed Champions are removed from the game. To represent the destruction of a Champion, put their card face-down in their controller’s Champion Area."
  • Page 12 clarifies that a Champion card is never shuffled into a player’s deck, and if destroyed, it is put back into the Champion Area, face-down.
  • The rulebook distinguishes between Acolytes (which go to the Discard Pile) and Champions (which are removed from the game) when destroyed.
  • Therefore, if a card effect would return a destroyed Unit from the Discard Pile, it would only affect Acolytes, since destroyed Champions are not in the Discard Pile but are instead removed from the game.

Source: pages 12 and 16.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 12, 14, 15, 16, 20)

Mode: inferred

When two Units destroy each other in an attack (both have Last Word), can the active player choose to resolve the Last Word that returns a Unit to the battlefield before the other?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The provided context explains that when a Unit with the Last Word attribute is destroyed, its ability is resolved at the moment of destruction (page 21). However, it does not specify the order in which simultaneous Last Word abilities are resolved when two Units destroy each other in combat. There is no rule in the provided context about priority or sequencing of simultaneous destruction effects.

To answer this question, the rulebook would need to specify:

  • How to handle simultaneous destruction and Last Word triggers.
  • Whether the active player chooses the order, or if there is a default order.

Source: page 21 (Attributes), page 25 (Combat example).

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 21, 25, 26, 33)

Mode: inferred

If multiple abilities trigger at the same time during the End of Turn phase, can you resolve hand size/discard effects before drawing up?

Answer

Yes, you can resolve hand size/discard effects before drawing up during the End of the Turn phase.

This is supported by the following rules:

  • On page 26, the End of the Turn phase sequence is explicitly listed:

    • "• Resolve all 'At the end of your turn' abilities and effects in any order."
    • "• Choose and discard any number of cards. Take into consideration that the amount of the cards that are not discarded must be less or equal to your hand size."
    • "• Draw cards from your deck until you reach your hand size."
  • On page 22, under "6.3 - Simultaneous Effects," it states:

    • "When this happens, the current player decides the order in which the abilities are resolved."

This means:

  • All "At the end of your turn" abilities and effects (including those that might affect hand size or require discarding) are resolved before you discard down to your hand size and then draw up to your hand size.
  • If multiple "At the end of your turn" effects trigger at the same time, you (as the current player) choose the order in which to resolve them, before proceeding to the discard and draw steps.

Summary

You resolve all "At the end of your turn" abilities and effects (including any that affect hand size or discarding) in any order you choose, before discarding down and drawing up to your hand size.

Source: page 26 (End of the Turn phase sequence), page 22 (Simultaneous Effects)

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 18, 22, 23, 26, 3)

Mode: inferred

Can an Acolyte with Genesis or Last Word activate those abilities multiple times if it leaves and re-enters the battlefield by various effects?

Answer

Yes, an Acolyte with the Genesis or Last Word attribute can activate those abilities multiple times, but only under specific circumstances:

  • Genesis: This attribute is resolved when the Acolyte is deployed onto the battlefield. If an Acolyte leaves the battlefield and is later re-deployed (for example, by being destroyed and then returned from the Discard Pile), its Genesis ability will trigger again upon its new deployment.
  • Last Word: This attribute is resolved when the Acolyte is destroyed. If the Acolyte is destroyed multiple times (i.e., it leaves and re-enters the battlefield and is destroyed again), its Last Word ability will trigger each time it is destroyed.

This is supported by the following rulebook references:

  • Page 15 (Section 4.4 - Replacing):
    "If the destroyed Unit has the Last Word attribute, you must resolve it before the new Unit enters into the battlefield. The Unit that enters into the battlefield is actually deployed, thus it is exhausted and its Genesis attribute must be resolved (if any)."
  • Page 19:
    "Effects of some rituals may activate some Last Word attribute. In that case, Last Word is resolved after the Ritual is put in the Discard Pile."

This means:

  • Each time an Acolyte is deployed, its Genesis triggers.
  • Each time it is destroyed, its Last Word triggers.

There is no rule in the provided context that limits these abilities to only once per game or per card.

Source: Page 15, Page 19

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 18, 19, 22, 8)

Mode: inferred

If a player's deck runs out of cards during an effect (not during the draw step), such as by forced discards or Sanctuary destruction, when is a Sanctuary destroyed?

If a player's deck runs out of cards due to an effect (such as forced discards or Sanctuary destruction), the rulebook does not specify that a Sanctuary is destroyed as a result of the deck running out of cards.

From the context:

  • When a Sanctuary is attacked after being destroyed, "the defending player removes the top card of their deck from the game, face-down (it does not go in the Discard Pile)" (page 20).
  • There is no mention of what happens if the deck is empty when this effect occurs.
  • The destruction of a Sanctuary is only triggered when its Aegis counter reaches zero (pages 11, 20).

Summary

A Sanctuary is destroyed only when its Aegis counter reaches zero, not when a player's deck runs out of cards. The rulebook does not specify any additional consequences or destruction triggers related to an empty deck during effects such as forced discards or Sanctuary destruction.

Source: pages 11, 20.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 18, 20, 22, 26)

Mode: inferred

If an exhausted Unit is granted Zealous by an effect, does it immediately become active, or does Zealous only apply when deployed?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook context defines the Zealous attribute as: "This Unit is deployed active (not exhausted) on the battlefield" (page 21). However, it does not specify what happens if a Unit already on the battlefield is granted Zealous by an effect, nor does it clarify whether the attribute has any effect outside of deployment.

To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to specify:

  • Whether gaining Zealous after deployment causes a Unit to become active immediately, or
  • If Zealous only affects the state of a Unit at the moment it is deployed.

Without this information, the rulebook is insufficient to provide a clear answer.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 14, 15, 19, 21, 24)

Mode: inferred

If a Unit with the Reaper attribute deals damage to a defending Unit, but both are destroyed simultaneously, does Reaper still trigger?

Yes, the Reaper attribute still triggers if a Unit with Reaper deals damage to a defending Unit, even if both are destroyed simultaneously.

Explanation

  • The Reaper attribute states:
    "If this Unit damages another Unit by any means, that Unit is automatically destroyed."
    (page 21)

  • The rules for simultaneous effects state:
    "During a game of Sanctuary: The Keepers Era, it may happen that two effects or abilities are triggered at the same time (e.g.: two Acolytes, who both possess the attribute Last Word, destroy each other). When this happens, the current player decides the order in which the abilities are resolved."
    (page 22)

This means that if both Units are destroyed at the same time (for example, due to combat damage), both their destruction effects (such as Last Word or the destruction from Reaper) are triggered simultaneously. The current player then chooses the order in which these effects are resolved.

Therefore, Reaper will still trigger and destroy the defending Unit, even if the Reaper Unit is also destroyed in the same combat. The destruction from Reaper is not prevented by the simultaneous destruction; it is simply resolved in the order chosen by the current player.

Source:

  • Reaper attribute, page 21
  • Simultaneous effects, page 22

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 20, 21, 22, 25)

Mode: inferred

When a Sanctuary is destroyed, and its lane is attacked again, does the attacking Unit's ability (such as Reaper) still apply to the lost deck card?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook explains that when a Sanctuary is destroyed, its position can still be attacked, and the defending player removes the top card of their deck from the game, face-down (page 20). However, it does not specify whether attacking Unit abilities (such as Reaper) interact with the lost deck card in this situation. The rulebook does not define the Reaper ability or clarify how Unit abilities apply when attacking a destroyed Sanctuary's lane.

To answer this question, the rulebook would need to provide:

  • A definition of the Reaper ability.
  • Clarification on whether Unit abilities trigger when attacking a destroyed Sanctuary's lane and causing a deck card to be removed.

Source: page 20.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 15, 20, 22, 24)

Mode: inferred

If a Fierce Unit is moved by an ability or effect to a defense position, is this allowed or is it immediately destroyed or returned?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook context defines the FIERCE attribute as: "This Unit can only be deployed on an attack position" (page 21). It also states that when moving Units, "Deploying restrictions still apply (e.g.: Fierce attribute)" (page 15).

However, the context does not specify what happens if a FIERCE Unit is moved to a defense position by an ability or effect. It is unclear whether the move is prohibited, the Unit is destroyed, or it is returned to its original position. The rulebook only clarifies that FIERCE restricts deployment, not movement, and does not provide a consequence for violating this restriction via movement.

To answer this question, the rulebook would need to specify the outcome when a FIERCE Unit is moved to a non-attack position.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 21, 24, 25, 26)

Mode: inferred

If a Unit with the Veil attribute is targeted by an ability that targets all Units (not specifically individual targets), does Veil prevent this?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook defines the Veil attribute as: "This Unit cannot be targeted by enemy Rituals or Abilities" (page 21), but it does not specify whether this protection applies to abilities or rituals that target all Units (i.e., non-individually targeted effects). The rulebook does not clarify if "targeted" includes being affected by global or mass-targeting effects.

To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to define what constitutes "targeting" and whether it includes or excludes effects that affect multiple or all Units simultaneously.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 15, 21, 24, 25, 33)

Mode: inferred

When replacing a Unit, do you pay the summoning cost before or after destroying the existing Unit, and can you change your mind after seeing the Last Word effect?

Answer

When replacing a Unit, the rulebook specifies the following sequence:

  • "If you want to deploy a Unit on the same position as another card of yours, first you must destroy the card already in play that occupies that position, then you may put in play the new Unit. This is called Replacing."
    (Page 15, Section 4.4 - Replacing)

  • "If the destroyed Unit has the Last Word attribute, you must resolve it before the new Unit enters into the battlefield."

  • "The Unit that enters into the battlefield is actually deployed, thus it is exhausted and its Genesis attribute must be resolved (if any)."

Regarding when to pay the summoning cost:

  • The summoning cost is paid when you put a card in play from your hand:
    "To put a card in play from your hand, you must pay the Essence Crystals required by its Summoning cost, indicated on the top-left corner of the card. After paying the card’s cost, place it on the battlefield..."
    (Page 14, Section 4.1 - Summoning)

Sequence of Actions When Replacing a Unit

  1. Decide to deploy a new Unit (initiate Summoning, pay the cost).
  2. Destroy the existing Unit in the chosen position.
  3. Resolve the destroyed Unit's Last Word attribute (if any).
  4. Deploy the new Unit (it enters exhausted, resolve Genesis if any).

Can you change your mind after seeing the Last Word effect?

  • The rules do not state that you may change your mind after seeing the Last Word effect. The process is described as a sequence: you destroy the existing Unit (resolving Last Word), then deploy the new Unit (which you have already paid for).
  • Since the summoning cost is paid before the card is placed on the battlefield, and the destruction (with Last Word) happens as part of the replacement process, there is no indication that you can reverse your decision after seeing the Last Word effect.

Summary

  • You pay the summoning cost before destroying the existing Unit.
  • You cannot change your mind after seeing the Last Word effect; the process is sequential and binding once initiated.

Source:
Page 14, Section 4.1 - Summoning
Page 15, Section 4.4 - Replacing

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 14, 15, 22, 24, 26)

Mode: inferred

If both players' last Sanctuaries are destroyed simultaneously, who wins the game?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook states that "as the last opponent’s Sanctuary falls, you are immediately declared the winner" (page 2), but it does not specify what happens if both players' last Sanctuaries are destroyed at the same time. There is no rule addressing simultaneous defeat or victory conditions for both players.

To answer this question, the rulebook would need to clarify the outcome when both players lose their last Sanctuary simultaneously, such as whether the game is a draw or if another tiebreaker applies.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 2, 20, 22, 26)

Mode: inferred

If an effect destroys a Sanctuary during your own turn, do you immediately win if it is your opponent's last Sanctuary, or do all effects and phases finish first?

I don't know based on the rulebook.

The provided rulebook context explains what happens when a Sanctuary is destroyed (remove it from the game and put it back inside the box; page 20) and how phases and effects are resolved, but it does not specify the victory conditions or when a player wins the game. There is no information in the provided context about whether the game ends immediately when a player's last Sanctuary is destroyed, or if all effects and phases must finish first.

To answer this question, the rulebook would need to include a section on victory conditions or the timing of game end.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 20, 22, 24, 26)