If an Investigator is moved involuntarily (such as by The Horror's Ambush), and they were carrying a Flashlight, is the Flashlight removed immediately before or after the movement, and could this impact which spaces become Bright or Reveal tokens?
Official Answer
If an Investigator is forced to move after placing a Flashlight, the Flashlight is removed from the board immediately before the movement occurs. This timing is important because it determines which spaces are Bright and which tokens or Adversaries are Revealed.
Rulebook Support
-
From page 9:
"If an Investigator is forced to move after placing a Flashlight, the Flashlight is removed from the board. This is more common when facing specific Adversaries such as The Insatiable Horror (p.A2)." -
The context of this rule is that the Flashlight does not remain on the board during the forced movement; it is removed as a direct result of the forced movement trigger.
Impact on Bright Spaces and Revealing
- Since the Flashlight is removed before the Investigator is moved, any spaces that were Bright due to the Flashlight immediately become non-Bright.
- Only spaces that were Bright at the moment the Flashlight was present will Reveal Hidden tokens or the Adversary. Once the Flashlight is removed, no new spaces become Bright, and no further tokens are Revealed as a result of the movement.
- Tokens or Adversaries that were already Revealed remain Revealed, even after the Flashlight is removed (page 9).
Summary
The Flashlight is removed immediately before the Investigator is involuntarily moved. This means only the spaces that were Bright while the Flashlight was present can Reveal tokens or the Adversary. The removal of the Flashlight before movement prevents any new spaces from being Bright or Revealing tokens as a result of the forced movement.
Source: page 9.
Source: Core Rules (pp. 12, 19, 22, 8, 9)