Rulora logo

Rulora

If a card instructs you to 'gain' a card from a location, does this count as your gain step in the Lead action, or is it a separate effect allowing you to gain additional cards that turn?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

If a card instructs you to "gain" a card from a location, this does not count as your gain step in the Lead action; it is a separate effect that allows you to gain additional cards that turn.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • From page 3:

    "Do not gain a location’s bonus if you gain a card through other means (e.g., if a character card says, 'Gain the top card from Luna')."

This indicates that gaining a card via a card ability is distinct from the gain step of the Lead action, which is the only time you also gain the location’s bonus. Therefore, you may gain additional cards in a turn if a card ability allows it, and you still perform the normal gain step of the Lead action.

Source: page 3.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)

Question ID: #527

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.