Rulora logo

Rulora

When a card's deploy ability instructs you to move or place a card on a location, does the moved card trigger its deploy ability or location bonus?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

A card that is moved or placed on a location by a deploy ability does not trigger its deploy ability or the location bonus.

This is supported by the following rules:

  • "If a card instructs you to move or place a card, it does not count as a deploy action."
    (Page 3)

  • The deploy ability is only triggered when you "deploy" a card, not when you "move" or "place" it by other means.
    (Page 3: "If a card instructs you to move or place a card, it does not count as a deploy action.")

  • Location bonuses are only gained when taking the Lead or Scout actions, not when a card is moved or placed by an ability.
    (Page 3: "Unless otherwise specified, the bonuses gained from Leading and Scouting are only triggered when taking those actions. Do not gain a location’s bonus if you gain a card through other means...")

Summary

  • Moved or placed cards do not trigger their deploy abilities.
  • Moved or placed cards do not grant the location bonus.

Source: page 3.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 1, 3, 5, 6)

Question ID: #511

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.