Rulora logo

Rulora

If you receive a Merchant beer bonus with a Develop effect and choose to remove a tile that would normally require iron, do you need to pay the iron cost?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

No, you do not need to pay the iron cost when removing a tile using the Merchant beer bonus with a Develop effect.

This is supported by the following rule:

  • Under Merchant Beer Bonuses (page 10), it states:

    "Develop (Gloucester): Remove 1 of the lowest level tiles of any industry from your Player Mat (for no iron cost). Exception: You cannot remove a Pottery tile showing a [lightbulb] icon (see 'Potteries and the Lightbulb Icon')."

This means that when you use the Develop bonus from a Merchant beer, you specifically do not pay the iron cost that would normally be required for the Develop action.

Source: page 10, Merchant Beer Bonuses section.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 12, 8)

Question ID: #488

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.