If a player runs out of money during their turn but needs to pay for an action (not negative income), how is this resolved? Can they remove Industry tiles before the action completes?
Official Answer
I don't know based on the rulebook.
The rulebook context provided (see page 6) only specifies that if a player has a shortfall when paying negative income (during the income phase), they must acquire money by removing one or more of their Industry tiles, each being worth half its cost, rounded down. It explicitly states: "You may not sell Industry tiles for any reason other than paying for a shortfall."
There is no rule in the provided context that allows a player to remove Industry tiles to pay for the cost of an action during their turn. The removal of Industry tiles to cover a money shortfall is only mentioned in the context of negative income, not for paying action costs.
To answer your question definitively, the rulebook would need to specify what happens if a player cannot pay for an action during their turn. As it stands, the context does not address this situation.
Source: page 6
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 6, 8)