Rulora logo

Rulora

How do elemental infusion and consumption work when multiple monsters of the same set act at different initiative positions in the same round?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

Elemental Infusion and Consumption with Multiple Monsters of the Same Set

When multiple monsters of the same set act at different initiative positions in the same round (for example, due to being revealed or spawned mid-round), the following rules apply:

  • Elemental Infusion:

    • An infusion occurs when the last monster of the set ends their turn.
    • The element is infused (token moved to the strong column) only after the last acting monster of that set has finished its turn.
  • Elemental Consumption:

    • A consumption occurs when the first monster of the set starts their turn.
    • The element is consumed (token moved to inert) at the start of the first acting monster's turn, and the benefit applies to every monster of the set acting at that time.
    • If any monsters of the same set act later in the initiative order (because they were revealed or spawned), they do not gain the benefit of a previous consumption, but they can consume an element that was infused in the intervening time.
  • Wild or Mixed Elements:

    • If a monster infuses or consumes a wild or mixed element, the party decides which element is infused or consumed.

Example Scenario

  • If a monster set has some monsters act early in the round and others (e.g., newly spawned) act later:
    • The first group can consume an element if it is available at the start of their turn.
    • The last monster to act (from either group) will trigger the infusion at the end of its turn.
    • Any monsters acting after the initial group (e.g., due to being spawned) do not benefit from the earlier consumption but may consume a newly infused element if available.

Source: page 43 (Monsters and Elements section)

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 18, 19, 23, 40, 43)

Question ID: #342

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.