Rulora logo

Rulora

Wyrmspan

19 Questions Answered

📘 Available Rulebooks:

Answered Questions

Answers are grounded in the game's rulebooks and written to clarify how the rules work during play.

Mode: inferred

What happens if a player ties for first place in one round's objective but has fewer items specified by the objective in subsequent rounds?

Based on the rulebook context, ties for objectives are resolved independently for each round, and scoring is "friendly." This means:

  • In the round where the tie occurs, all players tied for first place place their markers on the "1st place" space and gain the full VP for first place. The next player places their marker on the "2nd place" space, and so on (Page 14).
  • In subsequent rounds, the scoring is determined solely by the number of items specified by the objective for that round. If a player has fewer items than others in later rounds, they will score according to their position relative to other players for that specific round's objective (Page 14).

Each round's scoring is independent, so a tie in one round does not affect scoring in later rounds.

Summary

If a player ties for first place in one round but has fewer items specified by the objective in subsequent rounds, they will score based on their position in those later rounds without any carryover effect from the earlier tie.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 14, 15, 2, 6)

Mode: inferred

Can a player use the 'play a cave card for free' ability to bypass the egg cost associated with placing a card in the third or fourth column?

Yes, a player can use the 'play a cave card for free' ability to bypass the egg cost associated with placing a card in the third or fourth column.

This is explicitly stated in the rulebook on Page 5:

"If you gain a benefit that allows you to excavate for free, you do not need to pay the coin to excavate or the eggs associated with placing a cave card into that column."

This indicates that when using an ability that allows you to play a cave card for free, both the coin cost and the egg cost for the third and fourth columns are waived.

Summary

  • The 'play a cave card for free' ability bypasses both the coin and egg costs for placing a cave card in the third or fourth column.
  • This rule is found on Page 5 of the rulebook.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 11, 13, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

If a dragon ability specifies 'in this cave,', does it include dragons in spaces that were excavated later during the round?

No, based on the rulebook context, the phrase "in this cave" refers specifically to the row in which the dragon is located (either the Crimson Cavern, Golden Grotto, or Amethyst Abyss) and does not depend on when spaces were excavated during the round. The rulebook explicitly states that "in this cave" abilities apply to the specific row, not the entire player mat or the timing of excavation.

This interpretation is supported by the explanation on page 11, which clarifies:

  • "IN THIS CAVE": If a dragon’s ability has the text “in this cave” (e.g., Gain 3 for each other dragon in this cave.), it’s referring to the specific row in which the dragon is located (either the Crimson Cavern, Golden Grotto, or Amethyst Abyss), not your entire player mat.

Thus, any dragons added to the same row (cave) later in the round would still count for abilities specifying "in this cave", as long as they are in the same row. Timing of excavation does not affect this rule.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 1, 11, 13, 6)

Mode: inferred

Do the eggs cached under dragons from abilities count toward the public objective for eggs on the player mat?

"I don't know based on the rulebook."

The rulebook does not explicitly state whether cached eggs under dragons count toward public objectives for eggs on the player mat. While the rulebook mentions that cached resources (including eggs) remain in place until the end of the game and are worth 1 VP each unless otherwise specified (Page 8), it does not clarify whether these cached eggs are considered part of the "eggs on the player mat" for scoring objectives.

To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to specify:

  • Whether cached eggs are treated differently from eggs placed in nest icons for public objectives.
  • How public objectives for eggs are calculated.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 14, 2, 8, 9)

Mode: inferred

Can a player activate the same hatchling's 'third cache/tuck' bonus ability if they later replace it with another dragon?

"I don't know based on the rulebook."

The rulebook specifies that the third cache/tuck bonus ability of a hatchling can only be triggered once per game for each hatchling, as it represents the hatchling growing up (Page 9). However, the rulebook does not address whether replacing a hatchling with another dragon on the same space allows the new dragon to trigger its own abilities or whether the original hatchling's abilities remain tied to the space.

To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to clarify:

  • Whether replacing a hatchling with another dragon resets the ability conditions for the new dragon.
  • Whether the "once per game" limitation applies to the specific hatchling card or the space it occupied.

Without this information, the rulebook context is insufficient to determine the outcome.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 1, 11, 14, 8, 9)

Mode: inferred

What happens if a player attempts to lay an egg but has no available nest icons on their mat or dragons?

If a player attempts to lay an egg but has no available nest icons on their player mat or dragons, they may not lay the egg. The rulebook explicitly states:

"If you do not have an empty nest icon available, then you may not lay an egg." (Page 8)

This means the action fails, and the player cannot place the egg.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 14, 2, 6, 8)

Mode: inferred

Can a player intentionally discard down to 9 coins, resources, or cards during their turn to prepare for the next round?

No, a player cannot intentionally discard down to 9 coins, resources, or cards during their turn to prepare for the next round. The rulebook specifies that players must discard down to 9 coins, 9 cards, and 9 resource tokens at the end of their turn (see Page 14 and Page 11). There is no mention of players being allowed to discard items voluntarily during their turn outside of this end-of-turn requirement.

Additionally, the rulebook states that if a player gains items exceeding their capacity limit during another player's turn, they do not need to discard down until the end of their next turn (Page 11). This reinforces that discarding excess items is strictly tied to the end-of-turn phase.

Summary

Players are required to discard down to 9 coins, 9 cards, and 9 resources only at the end of their turn. There is no rule allowing voluntary discarding during the turn itself.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 14, 5, 6)

Mode: inferred

If a player tucks a dragon card that includes an egg cost in its printed cost, can they gain an egg as part of the 'any resource' benefit?

No, a player cannot gain an egg as part of the "any resource" benefit when they tuck a dragon card with an egg cost. According to the rulebook:

  • Coins and eggs are not considered resources (resources are defined as gold, crystal, meat, and milk).
  • The "any resource" icon in the ability description only allows players to gain one of the defined resources, not coins or eggs.

This is explicitly stated in the rulebook on page 8:

"Coins are not a resource (they’re not one of the colors of the 'any resource' icon), so you can’t gain a coin from this ability."

Eggs are similarly excluded from the definition of resources, so they cannot be gained through this ability.

Summary

Players may only gain gold, crystal, meat, or milk as part of the "any resource" benefit when tucking a dragon card. Eggs are not eligible.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 11, 2, 8, 9)

Mode: inferred

What happens if two players simultaneously reach a brown space on the Dragon Guild track and there are no bonuses left on the tile?

"I don't know based on the rulebook."

The rulebook specifies that when more than one player reaches a brown space on the Dragon Guild track in the same turn, they select their bonuses in clockwise order starting with the active player (Page 12). However, it does not address what happens if there are no bonuses left on the Dragon Guild tile. The rulebook does not provide guidance for this scenario, leaving it unclear whether players would receive no benefit, share a bonus, or resolve the situation in another way.

To answer this question, additional clarification or rules would be needed regarding how to handle situations where bonuses are unavailable.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 1, 12, 13, 14, 2)

Mode: inferred

When activating an 'end game' ability that references resource costs on a dragon, do cached resources count toward the calculation?

No, cached resources do not count toward the calculation of resource costs on a dragon when activating an "end game" ability. Cached resources are explicitly stated to remain in place until the end of the game and cannot be spent. Additionally, cached resources are worth 1 VP each unless otherwise specified, but they are not considered part of the resource costs printed on a dragon card.

This conclusion is supported by the following rules:

  • Cached resources: "Cached resources remain in place until the end of the game (they cannot be spent) and are worth 1 each, unless otherwise specified." (Page 8)
  • End game abilities: The rulebook does not mention cached resources being included in resource cost calculations for end game abilities.

Thus, cached resources are treated separately from the printed resource costs on dragon cards and do not contribute to those costs.

Source: Page 8

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 11, 6, 8, 9)

Mode: inferred

If a player gains resources during another player's turn and exceeds the capacity limit, do they discard immediately or wait until their own turn ends?

Players do not need to discard immediately if they exceed the capacity limit during another player's turn. They only discard down to the capacity limit (9 coins, 9 cards, and 9 resource tokens) at the end of their own turn.

This is explicitly stated in the Capacity Limits section on page 11:

"If you gain an item that causes you to go over your capacity limit during another player’s turn, you do not need to discard down until the end of your next turn."

Summary

Players wait until the end of their own turn to discard excess items, even if they exceed the limit during another player's turn.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 14, 2, 6)

Mode: inferred

Can a player gain multiple benefits from a single ability if it allows multiple exchanges, and how should these exchanges be resolved?

I don't know based on the rulebook. The rulebook does not explicitly address whether a single ability can allow multiple benefits or exchanges in one activation, nor does it provide specific instructions for resolving such exchanges.

Relevant Information:

  • Page 5 mentions that benefits from cave cards and player mat spaces are optional and typically advantageous. It also specifies that certain spaces allow spending 3 items in any combination to gain 1 coin, but this is limited to "only once per space."
  • Page 6 states that a "2-for-1 resource exchange can be used at any time," but it does not clarify whether this applies to abilities or how multiple exchanges might be handled.
  • Page 7 explains dragon abilities, including "if activated" abilities, but does not specify whether multiple benefits can be gained from a single activation.

What is Missing:

  • The rulebook does not define whether abilities that allow exchanges can be used repeatedly during a single activation.
  • It does not provide a clear resolution process for handling multiple exchanges within one ability.

To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to include:

  • A clarification on whether abilities can be activated multiple times in one instance.
  • Specific rules for resolving multiple exchanges within a single ability.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 10, 2, 5, 6, 7)

Mode: inferred

What happens if a player cannot pay the egg cost required to explore a cave multiple times in one round?

"I don't know based on the rulebook."

The rulebook context provided does not explicitly state what happens if a player cannot pay the egg cost required to explore a cave multiple times in one round. It does explain the costs for exploring a cave multiple times (e.g., 1 coin for the first time, 1 coin and 1 egg for the second time, and 1 coin and 2 eggs for the third time) and specifies that eggs can be paid from dragons or nests on the player mat (Page 10). However, it does not clarify whether the player is prevented from exploring if they cannot pay the required cost or if there is an alternative resolution.

To answer this question definitively, the rulebook would need to include a rule addressing situations where a player cannot pay the required cost for an action.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 5, 8)

Mode: inferred

Are tucked dragons considered part of a player's mat for objectives or end-game scoring that reference the number or type of dragons in a cave?

No, tucked dragons are not considered part of a player's mat for objectives or end-game scoring that reference the number or type of dragons in a cave.

Explanation:

  • According to the rulebook on page 8, tucked cards do not count as dragons for purposes of end-game abilities or end-of-round goals that require a specific number or type of dragons on your player mat.
  • Additionally, on page 11, abilities that refer to the number of dragons on your player mat or in a cave never count tucked cards.

Relevant Citations:

  • Page 8: "Tucked cards do not count as dragons for purposes of end game abilities or end-of-round goals that require you to have a specific number or type of dragons on your player mat."
  • Page 11: "Abilities that refer to the number of dragons on your player mat or in a cave never count tucked cards."

Thus, tucked dragons are excluded from objectives or scoring that depend on the visible number or type of dragons in a cave or on the player mat.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 1, 11, 14, 15, 8)

Mode: inferred

Does the 'if activated' ability of a dragon trigger if another ability moves the adventurer onto that dragon without choosing an explore action?

"I don't know based on the rulebook."

The rulebook specifies that "if activated" abilities trigger when the adventurer walks onto a dragon card during an explore action (see Page 10 and Page 7). However, it does not clarify whether these abilities activate if the adventurer is moved onto a dragon by another ability or action outside of exploring. The rulebook lacks explicit guidance on this scenario.

To answer this question, clarification would be needed on whether "if activated" abilities are tied exclusively to the explore action or if they can trigger from any movement onto the dragon.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 1, 10, 11, 7)

Mode: inferred

How is the maximum egg capacity of a dragon determined if cached resources or tucked cards are transferred during a replacement action?

The maximum egg capacity of a dragon during a replacement action is determined by the printed egg capacity of the new dragon card being played. Any surplus eggs beyond this printed capacity are discarded.

This rule is explicitly stated in the Guild of Highlands ability description on Page 13. When a dragon is replaced (i.e., a new dragon is played on top of an existing dragon), the original dragon becomes tucked, and all cached resources, tucked cards, and eggs associated with the original dragon transfer to the new dragon. However, the new dragon can only store eggs up to its printed capacity, and any excess eggs are discarded.

Summary

  • The printed egg capacity of the new dragon determines the maximum number of eggs it can hold.
  • Any eggs exceeding this capacity are discarded during the replacement action.

Source: Page 13, Guild of Highlands ability description.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 13, 2, 6, 8, 9)

Mode: inferred

Can a player excavate or entice multiple times in a single turn if a card ability allows it?

Yes, a player can excavate or entice multiple times in a single turn if a card ability explicitly allows it. The rulebook states that "Although you may add multiple cave cards to your player mat each round, every time you take the excavate action, you may only excavate 1 space (unless the cave card you play directs otherwise)" (Page 5). This indicates that card abilities can override the standard limitation of excavating or enticing only once per turn.

Summary

  • By default, players can excavate or entice only once per turn.
  • If a card ability explicitly allows additional excavations or enticements, players may perform those actions multiple times in a single turn.

This conclusion is based on the rulebook's clarification about card abilities potentially modifying the standard rules.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 1, 10, 11, 5)

Mode: inferred

What happens if a player activates an ability that allows all players to gain a card, but there are fewer cards in the display than players?

If a player activates an ability that allows all players to gain a card, but there are fewer cards in the display than players, not all players will have the opportunity to gain a face-up card. However, players may still draw from the deck if the ability allows it.

This is explicitly stated in the rulebook under "ABILITY ACTIVATION SEQUENCING":

  • "Note that dragons and cave cards are not refilled into the card display board until the end of the current turn, after all players have had the opportunity to activate the ability. This means that in some circumstances, if an 'all players gain a card' ability is triggered, not all players will have the opportunity to gain a face-up card (though they may still draw from the deck)."

Summary

  • Players gain cards in clockwise order starting with the active player.
  • If there are fewer cards in the display than players, some players may not be able to select a face-up card.
  • If the ability allows drawing from the deck, players may still draw a card from the top of the deck.

Source: Page 11, "ABILITY ACTIVATION SEQUENCING"

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 10, 11, 14, 2)

Mode: inferred

If multiple players pass during the same round, can they still gain benefits from other players's turns, and how does order impact this?

Yes, players who have passed during the round can still gain benefits from other players' turns, as long as the benefits are triggered by abilities or effects that involve all players. The rulebook specifies that card abilities are optional, and if an ability gives an opponent a benefit, they may gain it even if the active player declines to do so (Page 6).

How Order Impacts This:

  • Turn Order During the Round: Play proceeds clockwise, and players who have passed do not take further actions. However, they remain eligible to gain benefits from abilities triggered by other players during their turns.
  • Round End Abilities: At the end of the round, "once per round" dragon abilities are activated in turn order, starting with the round's start player (Page 14). If a dragon ability presents all players with a choice or benefit, players make their choices or gain their benefits in clockwise order, starting with the owner of the dragon.

Summary:

  • Players who pass during a round can still gain benefits from abilities triggered by other players during their turns.
  • Turn order impacts the sequence in which players gain benefits from "once per round" abilities at the end of the round.

Source: Wyrmspan Rulebook (pp. 14, 2, 5, 6)