Rulora logo

Rulora

When resolving the Scan action, if all data tokens in a sector are already replaced by markers, what happens if a player would mark another signal in that sector?

inferred
📖

Official Answer

If all data tokens in a sector's data slot have already been replaced by markers, and a player would mark another signal in that sector (for example, due to a Scan action or card effect), the following applies:

  • The player may still place their marker in the sector, even though there are no data tokens left to take.
  • The player does not gain a data token for this marker, since there are no data tokens remaining.
  • Placing this marker still counts toward winning the sector when it is completed.

This is supported by the following rule:

Sometimes you might have the opportunity to place more markers than a sector can hold. This is okay. You don't get data for the excess markers, but you can use them to help you win the sector once it's completed.

EXAMPLE: Everyone is tied with 2 markers, but orange wins the sector because orange marked it last. (Orange got no data for the last marker, but it was worth it to win the sector.)
(Page 13)

Summary:
If all data tokens are gone, you may still place a marker, but you do not gain data for it. The marker still counts for sector control.

Source: page 13.

Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 12, 13, 14, 17, 28)

Question ID: #457

Source: llm-seeded

Answer sourced from the official rulebook

Disclaimer: This answer is sourced from the official rulebook and processed for clarity. While we strive for accuracy, please verify important rules with the official game documentation or publisher when in doubt.