When refilling the bird tray, if the deck runs out, is the discard pile reshuffled immediately, or only when a draw is attempted?
Official Answer
If the face-down deck is ever emptied during the game, reshuffle all discarded bird cards to form a new deck.
This reshuffling occurs when a draw is attempted and the deck is empty, not immediately when the deck runs out.
This is supported by the following rule:
- "If the face-down deck is ever emptied during the game, reshuffle all discarded bird cards to form a new deck."
(Page 9)
The context describes this in the section about drawing cards, indicating the reshuffle happens as needed when a card must be drawn and the deck is empty, not at the moment the deck is depleted.
Source: page 9
Source: Core Rulebook (pp. 11, 2, 4, 5, 9)